Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Unexplained Phenomena / The Paranormal

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 8.09K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Grumpycorn

            Grumpycorn (Hardback)

            Illustrated by McIntyre, Sarah

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.99
            • Save $4.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Unicorn wants to write the most fabulous story in the world. He has a fancy notebook. A special fluffy pen. He has everything just perfect. But Unicorn has NO IDEA what to write! When his friends try to join in, will Unicorn turn into a ... GRUMPYCORN? A must-have unicorn picture... book treat from the bestselling, award-winning Sarah McIntyre.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781407180823
            Released NZ 1 Dec 2019
            Publisher Scholastic
            Interest Age 0-5 years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Jelly
             

            Jelly (Paperback)

            By Rees, Clare

            • RRP: $18.99
            • $15.19
            • Save $3.80
            • In Stock At Publisher

            After a traumatic event that no one can talk about or even quite remember, Martha and her friends are stuck on a giant killer jellyfish. They've had enough of it. They've decided that they're either going to escape, or die trying.

            ISBN 9781912626298
            Released NZ 1 Nov 2019
            Publisher Chicken House Ltd
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            You Can't Stop the Big Bad Bogey (PB)

            You Can't Stop the Big Bad Bogey (PB) (Paperback)

            By Knapman, Timothy; Illustrated by Knight, Tom

            • RRP: $17.99
            • $14.39
            • Save $3.60
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Can anyone stop the Big Bad Bogey? He's BOUNCY. He's NASTY. He's GREEN. He keeps ruining everyone's stories. But someone's standing up to this snotty mischief-maker: The Good Little Bogey. In this brilliant battle between good and evil, who will have the last laugh?

            ISBN 9781407195704
            Released NZ 1 Oct 2019
            Publisher Scholastic
            Interest Age 0-5 years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Help! I Smell a Monster

            Help! I Smell a Monster (Paperback)

            By Davies, Justin; Illustrated by Geyer, Kim

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.79
            • Save $4.20
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Are you SURE you've never met a monster? A fantastic new voice in fiction for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons.

            ISBN 9781408355466
            Released NZ 11 Jun 2019
            Publisher Hachette Children's Books
            Interest Age 7-9 years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Ghostland: In Search of a Haunted Country

            Ghostland: In Search of a Haunted Country (Hardback)

            By Parnell, Edward

            • RRP: $44.99
            • $33.74
            • Save $11.25
            • To Order

            What does it mean to be haunted? Why do certain places give us a sense of the uncanny? And should we run from the things that haunt us, or embrace them?

            ISBN 9780008271954
            Released NZ 21 Oct 2019
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Grumpycorn
             

            Grumpycorn (Paperback)

            Illustrated by McIntyre, Sarah

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $19.54
            • Save $3.45
            • In Stock UK

            Unicorn wants to write the most fabulous story in the world. He has a fancy notebook. A special fluffy pen. He has everything just perfect. But Unicorn has NO IDEA what to write! When his friends try to join in, will Unicorn turn into a ... GRUMPYCORN? A must-have unicorn picture... book treat from the bestselling, award-winning Sarah McIntyre.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781407180830
            Released NZ 2 May 2019
            Publisher Scholastic
            Interest Age 0-5 years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Remember Who You Are: So What Is Your Reality?
              

            Remember Who You Are: So What Is Your Reality? (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Nicholls Nd Dipclinhyp Lbl, Gail F.

            • RRP: $47.99
            • $47.99
            • Available At Publisher

            This is Gail's personal journey starting of being awakened at 3 years to remember who she is. Never feeling like she fitted into society and feeling so alone! In her 40's she started to travel extensively to find out for herself, who was she, remembering past life times and one t...hat blew her away! She discusses the DNA, what makes us who we are, and even discusses her theories on Extraterrestrials, Earth Cycles plus so much more. She prays when you read it it will awaken inside of yourself an inner peace and understanding that you are a beautiful human being having a most amazing experience, we call LIFE... and we are the creators of it!
            Read more

            ISBN 9781504316033
            Published NZ 12 Dec 2018
            Publisher NZ / SP Author Self Published
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available at publisher; ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Penguin Book of Mermaids

            The Penguin Book of Mermaids (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Bacchilega, Cristina; Edited by Brown, Marie Alohalani

            • RRP: $30.00
            • $22.50
            • Save $7.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Dive into centuries of mermaid lore with this captivating volume that brings together tales of mermaids from around the world. A Penguin Classic The oldest and most popular mythical being, mermaids--in all their alluring, mysterious glory--have captured the imagination since long... before Ariel sold her voice to a sea witch in the beloved Disney film adaptation of Hans Christian Andersen's The Little Mermaid. As far back as the eighth century B.C., sailors in Homer's Odyssey stuffed wax in their ears in order to resist the Sirens, who lured men to their watery deaths with song. More than two thousand years later, the gullible New York public lined up to witness a mummified mermaid specimen that the enterprising showman P. T. Barnum swore was real. The Penguin Book of Mermaids is a treasury of such tales about water spirits and merfolk from different cultures, from Scottish selkies to Hindu water-snakes to Chilean sea fairies. With incisive commentary that explores the undercurrents of these stories, it shows us how public perceptions of this popular mythical hybrid--at once a human and a fish, a temptress and a trickster--illuminate issues of gender, spirituality, ecology, and sexuality throughout history.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143133728
            Released NZ 15 Oct 2019
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Midnight Hour

            The Midnight Hour (Paperback)

            By Read, Benjamin; Trinder, Laura

            • RRP: $18.99
            • $15.19
            • Save $3.80
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Emily longs to be ordinary, but when her parents disappear, she stumbles into the secret, spooky world of the Midnight Hour. There's only one way she can rescue her parents: she must find the courage to embrace her magic ...

            ISBN 9781911490906
            Released NZ 1 May 2019
            Publisher Chicken House Ltd
            Interest Age 9-11 years
            Series The Midnight Hour
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Contact Paradox: Challenging our Assumptions in the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence
             

            The Contact Paradox: Challenging our Assumptions in the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence (Hardback)

            By Cooper, Keith

            • RRP: $36.99
            • $28.85
            • Save $8.14
            • Pub Date
              7 Jan 20

            In 1974 a message was beamed towards the stars by the giant Arecibo telescope in Puerto Rico, a brief blast of radio waves designed to alert extraterrestrial civilisations to our existence. Of course, we don't know if such civilisations really exist. For the past six decades a sm...all cadre of researchers have been on a quest to find out, as part of SETI, the search for extraterrestrial intelligence. So far, SETI has found no evidence of extraterrestrial life, but with more than a hundred billion stars in our Galaxy alone to search, the odds of quick success are stacked against us. The silence from the stars is prompting some researchers, inspired by the Arecibo transmission, to transmit more messages into space, in an effort to provoke a response from any civilisations out there that might otherwise be staying quiet. However, the act of transmitting raises troubling questions about the process of contact. We look for qualities such as altruism and intelligence in extraterrestrial life, but what do these mean to humankind? Can civilisations survive in the Universe long enough for us to detect them, and what can their existence, or lack thereof, reveal to us about our future prospects? Can we learn something about our own history when we explore what happens when two civilisations come into contact? Finally, do the answers tell us that it is safe to transmit, even though we know nothing about extraterrestrial life, or as Stephen Hawking argued, are we placing humanity in jeopardy by doing so? In The Contact Paradox, author Keith Cooper looks at how far SETI has come since its modest beginnings, and where it is going, by speaking to the leading names in the field and beyond. SETI forces us to confront our nature in a way that we seldom have before - where did we come from, where are we going, and who are we in the cosmic context of things? This book considers the assumptions that we make in our search for extraterrestrial life, and explores how those assumptions can tea
            Read more

            ISBN 9781472960429
            Released NZ 7 Jan 2020
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 8.09K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›