Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Historical Adventure Fiction

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 4.33K jump to: go ‹ previous...34567...next ›
            Trial by Fire: A Novel

            Trial by Fire: A Novel (Hardback)

            By Deutermann, P. T.

            • RRP: $64.99
            • $58.49
            • Save $6.50
            • To Order

            Based on a true story--P.T. Deutermann's Trial by Fire is a dramatic WWII novel of attack, survival, and triumph on board an aircraft carrier in the Pacific. --Publisher's description.

            ISBN 9781250273048
            Released NZ 13 Jul 2021
            Publisher St Martin's Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series P. T. Deutermann WWII Novels
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            Odin's Game
             

            Odin's Game (Paperback)

            By Hodkinson, Tim

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $18.74
            • Save $6.25
            • Pub Date
              1 Dec 21

            Iceland, AD 950: a young man must leave his homeland to forge his destiny, and find his father...

            ISBN 9781801107426
            Released NZ 1 Dec 2021
            Publisher Head of Zeus
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Raven Banner
             

            The Raven Banner (Paperback)

            By Hodkinson, Tim

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $18.74
            • Save $6.25
            • Pub Date
              1 Dec 21

            Iceland, AD 935: A young man is destined to be a warrior, how much longer can he fight his fate?

            ISBN 9781801107433
            Released NZ 1 Dec 2021
            Publisher Head of Zeus
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Sisters of Freedom

            Sisters of Freedom (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By O'Connor, Mary-Anne

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $29.69
            • Save $3.30
            • In Stock At Publisher

            <\strong>A lyrical tale of the struggle for women's rights, and following your heart to unexpected places, from a master storyteller. For readers of Fiona McIntosh, Nicole Alexander and Natasha Lester.<\strong><\p> Sydney, Christmas, 1901. Federation has been achieved but Austral...ian women are yet to gain the right to vote in their new nation's elections. <\p> Bolshy, boisterous Frankie Merriweather is a passionate advocate for women's rights, determined to dedicate herself to the cause, never marrying or becoming a mother. She can't understand her artistic sister Ivy, who wants a life of ease and beauty with her soon-to-be fiance, law student Patrick Earle. <\p> Meanwhile, their married sister Aggie volunteers in an orphanage, decrying the inequality of Australia's social classes ... and longing to hold a baby in her arms. <\p> When an accident takes Ivy, wounded and ill, into the violent and lawless zone of the Hawkesbury River, a year of change begins. Ivy's burgeoning friendship with her saviour Riley Logan, a smuggler, and his sister, the poverty stricken but valiant Fiona, will alter the lives of all three women forever. <\p>
            Read more

            ISBN 9781489261557
            Published NZ 7 Apr 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers (S2)
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Traitor
             

            Traitor (Paperback)

            By Jones, Geraint

            • RRP: $29.50
            • $24.78
            • Save $4.72
            • No availability locally

            You can't turn your back on RomeIn the bloodied mountains of Pannonia, the Roman army struggles to put down a brutal rebellion. Corvus is now the standard bearer of the Eighth Legion, which has borne the brunt of the fighting. The famed soldier has lost one comrade after another,... and now his oldest friend, Marcus, has betrayed him, shaking him to his core. Sick of the conflict, Corvus deserts his legion and rides for home to end his days in peace. But there is no escaping Rome, or its vengeance. Corvus might want a simple life, but when tragedy strikes, he is hauled back into the savage war. And this time, he won't be fighting on the Roman side... The compelling second novel in the Raven and the Eagle series, perfect for fans of Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow. Praise for Geraint Jones'Blood and guts, but also a clever exploration of the moral ambiguity of war and loyalty to a flag' Mail on Sunday 'Brutal, audacious, and fast paced' Anthony Riches, author of the Empire series. 'Historical fiction written by a real war veteran who knows all there is to know about blood and bonding in battle' Weekend Sport
            Read more

            ISBN 9781800324114
            Publisher Canelo
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series The Raven and the Eagle series
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
            View details for this title
            Resistance: The gripping new WWII espionage thriller
             

            Resistance: The gripping new WWII espionage thriller (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Timon, Mara

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • Pub Date
              30 Nov 21

            From the author of City of Spies comes another gripping espionage thriller, perfect for fans of Charlotte Philby and The Bletchley Circle.

            ISBN 9781838778552
            Released NZ 30 Nov 2021
            Publisher Bonnier Zaffre
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Wisdom of Crowds: The Riotous Conclusion to The Age of Madness
             

            The Wisdom of Crowds: The Riotous Conclusion to The Age of Madness (Hardback)

            By Abercrombie, Joe

            • RRP: $60.00
            • $46.80
            • Save $13.20
            • Pub Date
              14 Dec 21

            War. Politics. Revolution. The Age of Madness has arrived . . .

            ISBN 9780575095960
            Released NZ 14 Dec 2021
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series The Age of Madness
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Honour of Rome
             

            The Honour of Rome (Hardback)

            By Scarrow, Simon

            • RRP: $60.00
            • $46.80
            • Save $13.20
            • Pub Date
              11 Nov 21

            March with the Roman Army in the first century AD in this stunning novel of courage, camaraderie and deadly enemies from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Centurion and Traitors of Rome.

            ISBN 9781472258496
            Released NZ 11 Nov 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Woman in Red
             

            The Woman in Red (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Giovinazzo, Diana

            • RRP: $27.99
            • $21.83
            • Save $6.16
            • Pub Date
              30 Nov 21

            For readers who loved the larger-than-life heroines of Circe and My Dear Hamilton, this mesmerizing debut novel combines rigorous historical research, exhilarating adventure, and an unforgettable love story for the ages.

            ISBN 9781538717431
            Released NZ 30 Nov 2021
            Publisher Little, Brown
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Golden Fox: The Courtney Series 8

            Golden Fox: The Courtney Series 8 (Paperback)

            By Smith, Wilbur

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $14.99
            • Save $5.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            But her lover is no simple admirer - he is Ramon de Santiago y Machado, a KGB operative known as Golden Fox, and his mission is to recruit her as an agent, and uncover her father's secret business dealings. Isabella must make a choice about who she will betray - her father and he...r country, or her son and the man she loves .
            Read more

            ISBN 9781785766824
            Released NZ 25 Jul 2018
            Publisher Zaffre
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Courtney series
            Availability
            235 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 4.33K jump to: go ‹ previous...34567...next ›