Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Historical Fiction

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 55.1K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Dark Tides
             

            Dark Tides (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Gregory, Philippa

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Pub Date
              1 Dec 20

            Midsummers Eve, 1670. A wealthy man waits outside a poor London warehouse to meet with Alinor, the woman he failed twenty-one years before. He has everything to offer, wealth, land, status, and he believes she has the only thing he cannot buy: his son and heir. The warehouse is f...ailing, clinging on to poor business in Restoration London-a city gone mad for pleasure. But will Alinor and her family sell-out to Sir James? Meanwhile in New England, Alinor's brother Ned, who rebelled against the Crown, cannot find justice in the New World, as the King's revenge stretches across the Atlanic and turns the pioneers against each other and against the native Americans. A beautiful widow, Livia, arrives from Venice, telling them Alinor's son, Rob, has drowned and that she needs the family's help with a profitable new trade. She will import beautiful statues of marble and bronze to fuel the classical craze among the wealthy landowners. She enchants the warehouse family with her son, their new heir; her sensual carefree warmth; and promises of wealth to come. She captures Sir James and spins them all into a mesh of deceit which only the brave little daughter of the warehouse can break. Sarah searches for the truth about Livia in Venice bringing home the stunning denouement to this, the second book in the Fairmile series.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760851880
            Published NZ 1 Dec 2020
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Australia
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Summer

            Summer (Hardback)

            By Smith, Ali

            • RRP: $48.00
            • $36.00
            • Save $12.00
            • To Order

            The unmissable finale to Ali Smith's dazzling literary tour de force: the Seasonal quartet concludes in 2020 with Summer PRAISE FOR SEASONAL: 'The novel of the year is obviously Autumn' Observer on Autumn 'Masterful... Winter is utterly original' New York Times Book Review on Win...ter 'Luminous, generous, hope-filled... A dazzling hymn to hope. Ali Smith is lighting us a path out of the nightmarish now' Observer on Spring 'Smith's seasonal quartet of novels is a bold and brilliant experiment' Independent
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241207062
            Released NZ 6 Aug 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Seasonal Quartet
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Gates of Athens: Book One of Athenian
             

            The Gates of Athens: Book One of Athenian (Hardback)

            By Iggulden, Conn

            • RRP: $50.00
            • $37.50
            • Save $12.50
            • Pub Date
              20 Oct 20

            The momentous struggle between Athens and Sparta as rival powers and political systems will last for twenty-seven years (431 to 404 BC). It will end in the fall of Athens. Filled with cunning political scheming, astonishing military prowess, invasions, treacheries, plagues, ambit...ions, virtues, and emotions and a lot of intrigue, Conn Iggulden brings to life one of the most thrilling chapters of the ancient world.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241351239
            Released NZ 20 Oct 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon: Escape to the Riviera for the most irresistible read of 2020

            The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon: Escape to the Riviera for the most irresistible read of 2020 (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Digital original)

            By Steele, Sarah

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            For readers of Joanna Cannon and Ruth Hogan, a standout debut novel for summer 2020 about how to piece a life, and a heart, back together after loss.

            ISBN 9781472275417
            Released NZ 11 Aug 2020
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Queen'S Captain: Colonial Series Book 3
              

            The Queen'S Captain: Colonial Series Book 3 (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Watt, Peter

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.99
            • Save $7.00
            • Pub Date
              10 Nov 20

            From India to America and New Zealand, The Queen's Captain is the thrilling third and final instalment in the Colonial series by bestselling author Peter Watt.

            ISBN 9781760555344
            Published NZ 10 Nov 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            War Lord
             

            War Lord (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Cornwell, Bernard

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $26.25
            • Save $8.75
            • Pub Date
              1 Nov 20

            THE TIME HAS COME The final book in the globally bestselling historical series, coming October 2020.

            ISBN 9780008183967
            Released NZ 1 Nov 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series The Last Kingdom Series
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Atomic Love

            Atomic Love (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Fields, Jennie

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $27.75
            • Save $9.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Chicago, 1950 Rosalind Porter has always defied expectations - in her work as a physicist on the Manhattan Project to design the atomic bomb, and in her passionate love affair with coworker Thomas Wheeler. Five years after the end of both, her guilt over the results of her work a...nd her heartbreak over Wheeler are intertwined. She has almost succeeded in resigning herself to a more conventional life. Then Wheeler gets back in touch - but so does the FBI. Agent Charlie Szydlo wants Rosalind to spy on Wheeler, whom the FBI suspects of selling nuclear secrets to Russia. Rosalind final assignment launches her on a mission to find the truth . . . no matter where it leads.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241417782
            Released NZ 15 Sep 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Gates of Athens: Book One of Athenian

            The Gates of Athens: Book One of Athenian (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Iggulden, Conn

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $27.75
            • Save $9.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Set in the bloody, brutal world of Ancient Persia, an age of ever-shifting loyalties and epic battles. Witness the rise and fall of the world's greatest empire.

            ISBN 9780241351246
            Released NZ 4 Aug 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Bird in the Bamboo Cage

            The Bird in the Bamboo Cage (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Gaynor, Hazel

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            'US edition published under the title 'When We Were Young & Brave'. Don't miss the latest enthralling book from Hazel Gaynor, bestselling author of The Lighthouse Keeper's Daughter and The Cottingley Secret

            ISBN 9780008393649
            Released NZ 2 Sep 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            When I Come Home Again
             

            When I Come Home Again (Trade Paperback / Paperback, ANZ Only)

            By Scott, Caroline

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $25.73
            • Save $7.26
            • Pub Date
              5 Nov 20

            Based on true events, When I Come Home Again is a deeply moving and powerful story of a nation's outpouring of grief, and the search for hope in the aftermath of the First World War. From the highly acclaimed author of The Photographer of the Lost, a BBC Radio 2 Book Club pick.

            ISBN 9781471192180
            Released NZ 5 Nov 2020
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 55.1K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›