Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            War Fiction

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 16.0K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Things They Carried
             

            The Things They Carried (Paperback, New edition)

            By O'Brien, Tim

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A sequence of stories about the Vietnam War, this book also has the unity of a novel, with recurring characters and interwoven strands of plot and theme. It aims to summarize America's involvement in Vietnam, and her coming to terms with that experience in the years that followed....
            Read more

            ISBN 9780006543947
            Released NZ 4 Jul 1991
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Flamingo
            Availability
            948 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Paris Library: the bestselling novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris

            The Paris Library: the bestselling novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Charles, Janet Skeslien

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie So...ciety.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781529335453
            Released NZ 9 Feb 2021
            Publisher John Murray Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            838 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Legacy of War: The action-packed new book in the Courtney Series

            Legacy of War: The action-packed new book in the Courtney Series (Hardback)

            By Smith, Wilbur; Churchill, David

            • RRP: $45.00
            • $36.00
            • Save $9.00
            • Pre Release Local

            As the situation becomes violent, and the Courtney family home is under threat, Leon Courtney finds himself caught between two powerful sides - and a battle for the freedom of a country. Legacy of War is a nail-biting story of courage, bravery, rebellion and war from the master o...f adventure fiction.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781838772246
            Released NZ 15 Apr 2021
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            While Paris Slept: A mother in wartime Paris. A heartwrenching choice. A remarkable story.

            While Paris Slept: A mother in wartime Paris. A heartwrenching choice. A remarkable story. (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Druart, Ruth

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Perfect for readers of EARLY ONE MORNING and THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS, Headline Review's Lead Launch for Spring 2021 is a gripping, moving debut novel of courage, survival and the endurance of hope.

            ISBN 9781472267986
            Released NZ 9 Mar 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            824 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Rose Code

            The Rose Code (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Contains 1 Paperback / softback)

            By Quinn, Kate

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • Temporarily out of stock

            The brand-new book from the internationally bestselling author of The Alice Network and The Huntress - available to pre-order now!

            ISBN 9780008455859
            Released NZ 3 Mar 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            The Codebreakers

            The Codebreakers (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Sinclair, Alli

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            They will dedicate their lives to their country, but no one will ever know... A compelling story about tenacity and friendship, inspired by the real codebreaking women of Australia's top-secret Central Bureau in WWII. For readers who love Judy Nunn and Kate Quinn. 1943, Brisbane:... The war continues to devastate and the battle for the Pacific threatens Australian shores. For Ellie O'Sullivan, helping the war effort means utilising her engineering skills for Qantas as they evacuate civilians and deliver supplies to armed forces overseas. Her exceptional logic and integrity attract the attention of the Central Bureau-an intelligence organisation working with England's Bletchley Park codebreakers. But joining the Central Bureau means signing a lifetime secrecy contract. Breaking it is treason. With her country's freedom at risk, Ellie works with a group of elite women who enter a world of volatile secrets; deciphering enemy communications to change the course of the war. Working under immense pressure, they form a close bond-yet there could be a traitor in their midst. Can the women uncover the culprit before it's too late? As Ellie struggles with the magnitude of the promise she's made to her country, a wedge grows between her and those she holds dear. When the man she loves asks questions she's forbidden to answer, how will she prevent the double life she's leading from unravelling?
            Read more

            ISBN 9781489296931
            Published NZ 3 Mar 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            848 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Great Circle: The dazzling new novel for fans of The Goldfinch
             

            Great Circle: The dazzling new novel for fans of The Goldfinch (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Shipstead, Maggie

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $28.86
            • Save $8.14
            • Pub Date
              11 May 21

            After filming is complete, her bond grows stronger as she begins to question whether the Great Marian Graves really did die at all.Maggie Shipstead is the author of the bestselling and prize-winning debut novel SEATING ARRANGMENTS.

            ISBN 9780857526816
            Released NZ 11 May 2021
            Publisher Transworld Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Children's Train

            The Children's Train (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Ardone, Viola

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $26.25
            • Save $8.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Based on true events, a heartbreaking story of love, family, hope, and survival set in post-World War II Italy-written with the heart of Orphan Train and Before We Were Yours-about poor children from the south sent to live with families in the north to survive deprivation and the... harsh winters. Though Mussolini and the fascists have been defeated, the war has devastated Italy, especially the south. Seven-year-old Amerigo lives with his mother Antonietta in Naples, surviving on odd jobs and his wits like the rest of the poor in his neighborhood. But one day, Amerigo learns that a train will take him away from the rubble-strewn streets of the city to spend the winter with a family in the north, where he will be safe and have warm clothes and food to eat. Together with thousands of other southern children, Amerigo will cross the entire peninsula to a new life. Through his curious, innocent eyes, we see a nation rising from the ashes of war, reborn. As he comes to enjoy his new surroundings and the possibilities for a better future, Amerigo will make the heartbreaking choice to leave his mother and become a member of his adoptive family. Amerigo's journey is a moving story of memory, indelible bonds, artistry, and self-exploration, and a soaring examination of what family can truly mean. Ultimately Amerigo comes to understand that sometimes we must give up everything, even a mother's love, to find our destiny.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780063078246
            Released NZ 3 Feb 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            562 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Rose Code: A Novel
             

            The Rose Code: A Novel (Paperback)

            By Quinn, Kate

            • RRP: $38.99
            • $30.14
            • Save $8.85
            • Backorder US

            The New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Huntress and The Alice Network returns with another heart-stopping World War II story of three female code breakers at Bletchley Park and the spy they must root out after the war is over. 1940.

            ISBN 9780062943477
            Released NZ 1 Apr 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (on backorder); allow 4-8 weeks
            View details for this title
            Our Darkest Night

            Our Darkest Night (Paperback)

            By Robson, Jennifer

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $5.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A compelling novel of sacrifice and survival, love and hope, set in Italy during World War Two - inspired by true events.

            ISBN 9781472280688
            Released NZ 1 Mar 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            342 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 16.0K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›