Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            True Stories: Discovery / Historical / Scientific

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 318 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Inge's War: A Story of Family, Secrets and Survival under Hitler
             

            Inge's War: A Story of Family, Secrets and Survival under Hitler (Hardback)

            By O'Donnell, Svenja

            • RRP: $48.00
            • $38.40
            • Save $9.60
            • In Stock UK

            What does it mean to be on the wrong side of history? But when Svenja impulsively visits this windswept Baltic city, something unlocks in Inge and, finally, she begins to tell her story.

            ISBN 9781529105452
            Released NZ 6 Aug 2020
            Publisher Ebury Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Death Ray Debacle: A Novel of the 1935 Kiwi Invention Spies Tried to Steal
             

            The Death Ray Debacle: A Novel of the 1935 Kiwi Invention Spies Tried to Steal (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By McGill, David

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $33.24
            • Save $1.75
            • Available At Publisher

            "In June 1935 Takapuna inventor Victor Penny was attacked by foreign agents seeking what the newspapers dubbed a 'death ray'. The government secretly shifted him to Somes Island in Wellington harbour to develop the weapon. The novel of this true story is told by Temporary Acting ...Detective Dan Delaney, seconded to Special Branch, forerunner of the Security Intelligence Service. Special Branch is monitoring the German Club in Auckland, an increasingly shrill supporter of the Nazi regime. The unconventional Auckland theatrical scene has made sensational headlines with the alleged murder of his wife by impresario Eric Mareo, his accuser the bisexual dancer Freda Stark, lover of his deceased partner. A mysterious German/Jewish refugee has been involved in both the German Club and this Bohemian scene, making her a person of interest to the young detective and a recently arrived German diplomat. The detective and a helpful Scotland Yard adviser pursue and are pursued by spies determined to steal Penny's blueprint. Round-the-clock protection is provided for Penny by armed soldiers on the supposedly secure Somes Island government facility, used to imprison enemy aliens in the Great War. Corruption on the island is uncovered by the detectives as they face lethal force to acquire an invention all major countries are actively chasing"--Back ciover.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780992262228
            Published NZ 2 Oct 2015
            Publisher Silver Owl Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate

            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Export / Airside)

            By Campbell, Nancy

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Delayed Release

            A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

            ISBN 9781471169328
            Released NZ 1 Dec 2018
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Pre-order title, release date has been delayed
            View details for this title
            The Bastard Brigade: The True Story of the Renegade Scientists and Spies Who Sabotaged the Nazi Atomic Bomb
             

            The Bastard Brigade: The True Story of the Renegade Scientists and Spies Who Sabotaged the Nazi Atomic Bomb (Paperback)

            By Kean, Sam

            • RRP: $27.99
            • $21.83
            • Save $6.16
            • Pub Date
              29 Sep 20

            New York Times bestselling author Sam Kean tells the incredible story of how a renegade group of spies kept Hitler from obtaining his ultimate prize: a nuclear bomb.

            ISBN 9781529374889
            Released NZ 29 Sep 2020
            Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World
             

            In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Clode, Danielle

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • Pub Date
              29 Sep 20

            A voyage of discovery, nature and untold histories - in the vein of Clare Wright, Edmund de Waal and Helen Macdonald.

            ISBN 9781760784959
            Published NZ 29 Sep 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Weather Experiment: The Pioneers who Sought to see the Future
             

            The Weather Experiment: The Pioneers who Sought to see the Future (Paperback)

            By Moore, Peter

            • Imp. $41.99
            • $33.59
            • Save $8.40
            • No availability locally

            In 1865 a broken Admiral Robert FitzRoy locked himself in his dressing room and cut his throat. His grand meteorological project had failed. Yet only a decade later, FitzRoy's storm-warning system and 'forecasts' would return. This book deals with his life and work.

            ISBN 9780099581673
            Released NZ 15 May 2016
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
            View details for this title
            Hold On Edna!: The heartwarming true story of the first baby born on the NHS
              

            Hold On Edna!: The heartwarming true story of the first baby born on the NHS (Paperback)

            By Thomas, Aneira

            • RRP: $29.50
            • $29.50
            • Pub Date
              3 Sep 20

            The true story of the first NHS baby. Hold On Edna! is a nostalgic tale of community spirit, hardship and family ties, culminating in the greatest change to ordinary working families in modern history.

            ISBN 9781913406318
            Released NZ 3 Sep 2020
            Publisher Mirror Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 3 Sep 2020
            View details for this title
            The Disappearing Act
             

            The Disappearing Act (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By de Changy, Florence

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • Pub Date
              4 Mar 21

            The affair was weird when seen from afar, but seen in close-up, it was Kafkaesque: it was not possible in 2014 for a Boeing 777 to have simply disappeared...

            ISBN 9780008381547
            Released NZ 4 Mar 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Trials of Minnie Dean: a verse biography
             

            The Trials of Minnie Dean: a verse biography (Paperback)

            By Zelas, Karen

            • RRP: $25.00
            • $22.50
            • Save $2.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Minnie Dean: the first - and only - woman to be hanged in New Zealand.

            ISBN 9780994129994
            Published NZ 22 Jul 2017
            Publisher Makaro Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Inge's War: A Story of Family, Secrets and Survival under Hitler

            Inge's War: A Story of Family, Secrets and Survival under Hitler (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By O'Donnell, Svenja

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $31.20
            • Save $8.80
            • In Stock At Publisher

            What does it mean to be on the wrong side of history? But when Svenja impulsively visits this windswept Baltic city, something unlocks in Inge and, finally, she begins to tell her story.

            ISBN 9781529105469
            Released NZ 28 Apr 2020
            Publisher Ebury Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 318 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›