Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            True Stories: Discovery / Historical / Scientific

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 378 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            A Net for Small Fishes

            A Net for Small Fishes (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Jago, Lucy

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $25.73
            • Save $7.26
            • In Stock At Publisher

            'The Thelma and Louise of the seventeenth century: two mis-matched heroines, two grittily-textured lives, an outrageous plot (true!), sex, politics, and a gut-wrenching ending' Andrew Davies Frances Devereux has beauty, glamour, a powerful family - and not a friend in the world. ...Anne Taylor has wit, talent and ambition - but no way into the court she longs to enter. When these two very different women meet in the strangest of circumstances, a friendship quickly sparks and catches. Following at Frankie's heels, Anne crosses into a world beyond her imagination: a court where a foreign king is a stranger to his own subjects; where ancient families vie for power, and where a favourite of the king may rise and rise - so long as he remains in favour. With the marriage of their talents, Anne and Frankie are an even match for this beautiful, savage hunting ground. But as Frankie's situation grows dangerous, and Anne's precarious, the women are driven to a series of desperate acts - acts which could lose them everything. What price ambition, and talent, and self-creation, at the cost of total destruction?
            Read more

            ISBN 9781526616616
            Released NZ 2 Mar 2021
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Disappearing Act: The Impossible Case of Mh370

            The Disappearing Act: The Impossible Case of Mh370 (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By de Changy, Florence

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • Temporarily out of stock

            The affair was weird when seen from afar, but seen in close-up, it was Kafkaesque: it was not possible in 2014 for a Boeing 777 to have simply disappeared...

            ISBN 9780008381547
            Released NZ 1 Apr 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            The Ruby Princess

            The Ruby Princess (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By McNab, Duncan

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In the early hours of Thursday 19 March 2020, the luxury cruise liner Ruby Princess docked at Sydney's Circular Quay, the gateway to Australia. Hours later, 2700 passengers disembarked. Yet in the middle of a pandemic sweeping the planet, there were no health checks. Over the nex...t few days, the passengers got some bad news. The COVID-19 virus had infected some on the ship, and it spread rapidly. Eventually over 900 passengers and crew would be diagnosed, and 28 would die from the disease. Months of investigation and a Special Commission uncovered a series of catastrophic mistakes, from negligence to corporate greed of an industry with a history of only caring for its bottom line. This 'super-spreader incident' was a viral bomb that exploded in the heart of Australia's biggest city - and a disaster that could and should have been prevented. In his page-turning book, investigative journalist Duncan McNab explores the causes of the spectacular quarantine failure, the cruise industry, the lives of the victims and their families, and the turbulent politics of blame.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760982973
            Published NZ 23 Feb 2021
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Expedition Deep Ocean: The First Descent to the Bottom of All Five Oceans
             

            Expedition Deep Ocean: The First Descent to the Bottom of All Five Oceans (Hardback)

            By Young, Josh

            • RRP: $59.50
            • $46.69
            • Save $12.81
            • Internationally sourced

            The riveting story of the exploration of the final frontier of our planet-the deep ocean-and history-making mission to reach the bottom of all five seas.

            ISBN 9781643136769
            Released NZ 6 Jan 2021
            Publisher Pegasus Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Come Fly the World: The Women of Pan Am at War and Peace
             

            Come Fly the World: The Women of Pan Am at War and Peace (Hardback)

            By Cooke, Julia

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.19
            • Save $8.80
            • Pub Date
              16 Jun 21

            Travel writer Julia Cooke's exhilarating portrait of Pan Am stewardesses in the Mad Men era

            ISBN 9781785786884
            Released NZ 16 Jun 2021
            Publisher Icon Books Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Dinosaur Hunters: The Extraordinary Story of the Discovery of Prehistoric Life
             

            The Dinosaur Hunters: The Extraordinary Story of the Discovery of Prehistoric Life (Hardback)

            By Dingus, Dr Lowell; Museum of National History, American

            • RRP: $45.00
            • $36.00
            • Save $9.00
            • Pub Date
              2 Jul 21

            The story of intrepid palaeontologists, the discoverers of prehistoric life, and the revelations found through their research.

            ISBN 9780233005430
            Released NZ 2 Jul 2021
            Publisher Welbeck Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Disappearing Act: The Impossible Case of Mh370

            The Disappearing Act: The Impossible Case of Mh370 (Hardback)

            By de Changy, Florence

            • RRP: $44.99
            • $33.74
            • Save $11.25
            • To Order/ Indent titles

            The affair was weird when seen from afar, but seen in close-up, it was Kafkaesque: it was not possible in 2014 for a Boeing 777 to have simply disappeared...

            ISBN 9780008381530
            Released NZ 7 Apr 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            Autopsy: Life in the trenches with a forensic pathologist in Africa
             

            Autopsy: Life in the trenches with a forensic pathologist in Africa (Paperback)

            By Blumenthal, Ryan

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $24.51
            • Save $0.48
            • Internationally sourced

            A hair-raising account about the ins and outs of practising forensic pathology in Africa.

            ISBN 9781776191109
            Released NZ 2 Apr 2021
            Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Lost Ark of the Covenant: The Remarkable Quest for the Legendary Ark
             

            The Lost Ark of the Covenant: The Remarkable Quest for the Legendary Ark (Paperback)

            By Parfitt, Tudor

            • RRP: $25.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $6.50
            • Temporarily out of stock

            Professor Tudor Parfitt, a real-life British Indiana Jones, has made the biggest discovery of the last 3,000 years -- what became of the fabled Ark of the Covenant. This is the amazing story of his quest.

            ISBN 9780007262687
            Released NZ 10 Apr 2009
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age 14+ years
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate

            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Export / Airside)

            By Campbell, Nancy

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Available At Publisher

            A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

            ISBN 9781471169328
            Released NZ 1 Dec 2018
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 378 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›