Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            True Stories: Discovery / Historical / Scientific

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 370 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Disappearing Act
             

            The Disappearing Act (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By de Changy, Florence

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • Pub Date
              3 Feb 21

            The affair was weird when seen from afar, but seen in close-up, it was Kafkaesque: it was not possible in 2014 for a Boeing 777 to have simply disappeared...

            ISBN 9780008381547
            Released NZ 3 Feb 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World

            In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Clode, Danielle

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • Temporarily out of stock

            A voyage of discovery, nature and untold histories - in the vein of Clare Wright, Edmund de Waal and Helen Macdonald.

            ISBN 9781760784959
            Published NZ 29 Sep 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            Inge's War: A Story of Family, Secrets and Survival under Hitler

            Inge's War: A Story of Family, Secrets and Survival under Hitler (Hardback)

            By O'Donnell, Svenja

            • RRP: $48.00
            • $37.44
            • Save $10.56
            • To Order

            What does it mean to be on the wrong side of history? But when Svenja impulsively visits this windswept Baltic city, something unlocks in Inge and, finally, she begins to tell her story.

            ISBN 9781529105452
            Released NZ 11 Sep 2020
            Publisher Ebury Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            34 Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            Targeted: My Inside Story of Cambridge Analytica and How Trump, Brexit and Facebook Broke Democracy
             

            Targeted: My Inside Story of Cambridge Analytica and How Trump, Brexit and Facebook Broke Democracy (Paperback)

            By Kaiser

            • RRP: $27.99
            • $20.99
            • Save $7.00
            • Pub Date
              1 Feb 21

            In this explosive memoir, a political consultant and technology whistleblower reveals the disturbing truth about the multi-billion-dollar data industry, revealing to the public how companies are getting richer using our personal information and exposing how Cambridge Analytica ex...ploited weaknesses in privacy laws to help elect Donald Trump. When Brittany Kaiser joined Cambridge Analytica - the UK-based political consulting firm funded by conservative billionaire and Donald Trump patron Robert Mercer - she was an idealistic young professional working on her fourth degree in human rights law and international relations. A veteran of Barack Obama's 2008 campaign, Kaiser's goal was to utilize data for humanitarian purposes, most notably to prevent genocide and human rights abuses. But her experience inside Cambridge Analytica opened her eyes to the tremendous risks that this unregulated industry poses to privacy and democracy. Targeted is Kaiser's eyewitness chronicle of the dramatic and disturbing story of the rise and fall of Cambridge Analytica. She reveals to the public how Facebook's lax policies and lack of sufficient national laws allowed voters to be manipulated in both Britain and the United States, where personal data was weaponised to spread fake news and racist messaging during the Brexit vote and the 2016 election. But the damage isn't done Kaiser warns; the 2020 election can be compromised as well if we continue to do nothing. In the aftermath of the U.S. election, as she became aware of the horrifying reality of what Cambridge Analytica had done in support of Donald Trump, Kaiser made the difficult choice to expose the truth. Risking her career, relationships, and personal safety, she told authorities about the data industry's unethical business practices, eventually testifying before Parliament. Packed with never-before-publicly-told stories, Targeted goes inside the secretive meetings with Trump campaign personnel and details the promises Cambridge Anal
            Read more

            ISBN 9780008363932
            Released NZ 1 Feb 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Life Under Glass

            Life Under Glass (Trade Paperback / Paperback, 2nd edition)

            By Nelson, Mark; Alling, Abigail; Silverstone, Sally

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $35.99
            • Save $4.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Life Under Glass tells the fascinating story of four men and four women who lived and worked inside the Biosphere 2 structure, where they recycled their air, water, food, and wastes, setting a world record for time spent in a closed ecological system. This is the only account wri...tten during the unprecedented experiment while the team was enclosed inside.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780907791768
            Released NZ 1 May 2020
            Publisher Misc - Alliance Distribution
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            25 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Growing Up in the 60s
              

            Growing Up in the 60s (Paperback)

            By Thompson, Tom

            • RRP: $28.99
            • $28.99
            • Ready to ship

            If you remember UV lights, if you loved Easy Rider, if you still know the words to Norwegian Wood and once had a poster of Che Guevara on your bedroom wall - in other words, if you grew up in Australia in the 1960s - you will get a lot of fun with Tom Thompson's book. It is funny... and astute and wonderfully nostalgic. - Jane Cadzow, The Australia
            Read more

            ISBN 9780648739029
            Published NZ 1 Mar 2020
            Publisher ETT Imprint
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            1 Ready to ship - Allow 3-5 days
            18 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate

            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Export / Airside)

            By Campbell, Nancy

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Delayed Release

            A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

            ISBN 9781471169328
            Released NZ 1 Dec 2018
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Pre-order title, release date has been delayed
            View details for this title
            It Takes Two: A History of the Couples Who Dared to be Different
             

            It Takes Two: A History of the Couples Who Dared to be Different (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Newman, Cathy

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • Pub Date
              6 Jan 21

            They say two heads are better than one - but who are the great dynamic duos of history?

            ISBN 9780008363345
            Released NZ 6 Jan 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Hero from Nithdale Station: The remarkable true-life story of Major Charles W.H. Tripp - 'The Boss'
              

            The Hero from Nithdale Station: The remarkable true-life story of Major Charles W.H. Tripp - 'The Boss' (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Tripp, Dick

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $23.74
            • Save $1.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Be inspired by the courage of this hard-working Southland farmer who led the First Commando Fiji Guerrillas in World War II. Charlie Tripp, aka The Boss, bought Nithdale Station near Gore in 1924 and developed it into a stunning family legacy. Nithdale Genetics is now among the b...est in New Zealand. Charlie Tripp is an extraordinary hero.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780473462291
            Published NZ 19 Dec 2018
            Publisher Wild Side Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            39 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            A Net for Small Fishes
             

            A Net for Small Fishes (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Jago, Lucy

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $25.73
            • Save $7.26
            • Pub Date
              2 Mar 21

            'The Thelma and Louise of the seventeenth century: two mis-matched heroines, two grittily-textured lives, an outrageous plot (true!), sex, politics, and a gut-wrenching ending' Andrew Davies Frances Devereux has beauty, glamour, a powerful family - and not a friend in the world. ...Anne Taylor has wit, talent and ambition - but no way into the court she longs to enter. When these two very different women meet in the strangest of circumstances, a friendship quickly sparks and catches. Following at Frankie's heels, Anne crosses into a world beyond her imagination: a court where a foreign king is a stranger to his own subjects; where ancient families vie for power, and where a favourite of the king may rise and rise - so long as he remains in favour. With the marriage of their talents, Anne and Frankie are an even match for this beautiful, savage hunting ground. But as Frankie's situation grows dangerous, and Anne's precarious, the women are driven to a series of desperate acts - acts which could lose them everything. What price ambition, and talent, and self-creation, at the cost of total destruction?
            Read more

            ISBN 9781526616616
            Released NZ 2 Mar 2021
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 370 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›