Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            History, Philosophy & Religion

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 1.54M jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Protest!: Shaping Aotearoa
              

            Protest!: Shaping Aotearoa (Paperback)

            By Hager, Mandy

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $32.00
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A selected history of the protests in New Zealand that shape modern day Aotearoa, starting with the early 1800s, through to anti-nuclear and land rights. Mandy Hager looks at the background, the structure of the protest and how it affected attitudes. Includes a brief look at the ...Pacific Islands claims for independence.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780995117693
            Published NZ 12 Aug 2021
            Publisher OneTree House Ltd
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Atua: Maori Gods and Heroes
             

            Atua: Maori Gods and Heroes (Hardback)

            By Bishop, Gavin

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $30.00
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Gavin Bishop's stunning, once-in-a-generation compendium introduces readers to the pantheon of Maori gods, demigods and heroes, and explores Aotearoa's most exciting legends from the Creation to the Migration. Meet the gods, demigods and heroes of the Maori people of Aotearoa in ...this breathtaking, large-scale illustrated book for children. Before the beginning there was nothing. No sound, no air, no colour - nothing. TE KORE, NOTHING. No one knows how long this nothing lasted because there was no time. However, in this great nothing there was a sense of waiting. Something was about to happen. Meet the gods, demigods and heroes of the Maori world, and explore Aotearoa's exciting legends from the Creation to the Migration. Fascinating, beautiful and informative, this once-in-a-generation compendium deserves a place on every bookshelf.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143775690
            Published NZ 31 Aug 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 5-12 years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The New Zealand Wars
             

            The New Zealand Wars (Paperback)

            By Wright, Matthew

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $26.99
            • Save $3.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            * The most concise, grounded guide to the New Zealand wars * Written by well-respected historian and author of over 60 books * Fifth title in The NZ Series, for a general readership, and tailored to new NZ history curriculum

            ISBN 9780947506933
            Published NZ 7 Jul 2021
            Publisher Oratia Media
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Series The NZ Series
            Availability
            72 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Tikanga
             

            Tikanga (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Tipene, Francis; Tipene, Kaiora

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The stars of The Casketeers on how to live a fulfilling life, rich with tikanga. Following on from the bestseller Life as a Casketeer, Francis and Kaiora Tipene share how they bring the traditional values of tikanga Maori into day-to-day living. Known for their warm hearts, grace... and humour, the stars of the wildly popular Netflix series The Casketeers share more of their life experiences juggling five sons, three businesses, a television show and a life filled with joy, spirituality and happiness.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775541752
            Published NZ 2 Jun 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            614 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Ngake me Whataitai: 2021
             

            Ngake me Whataitai: 2021 (Paperback)

            By Ngaia, Ben; Illustrated by Mutton-Rogers, Laya

            • RRP: $20.00
            • $16.00
            • Save $4.00
            • Available At Publisher

            This is a traditional story told in te reo Maori from the perspective of the Kahui Maunga people about Ngake and Whataitai. These two taniwha inhabited Te Whanganui-a-Tara, Wellington Harbour, long before the ancestral migrations. The story tells how the shape and landscape... of Wellington, its harbour and the Lower Hutt area came about because of the actions of Ngake and Whataitai. Long ago, Te Whanganui a Tara was an enclosed lake, but Ngake forced his way out into the sea by battering through the clenched teeth of the fish of Maui to allow the fish to breathe. Whataitai was washed down the throat of the fish, causing it to cough, and Whataitai and three morsels flew out. The morsels became islands in the harbour, but Whataitai was stranded and grew weak and died, becoming part of the land around the harbour
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775506379
            Published NZ 1 Mar 2021
            Publisher Huia Publishers
            Interest Age 8-12 years
            Language (Te Reo Maori)
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            He Atua, He Tangata: The World of Maori Mythology
              

            He Atua, He Tangata: The World of Maori Mythology (Hardback, 3rd Enhanced edition)

            By Reed, A. W.; Edited by Calman, Ross

            • RRP: $59.99
            • $53.99
            • Save $6.00
            • Pub Date
              6 Oct 21

            Esteemed editor Ross Calman (Ngati Raukawa, Ngati Toa, Kai Tahu) further revises the Reed Book of Maori Mythology to blend story, source and commentary into a captivating collection. Published in a distinguished hardback, this work will provide a valuable source of reading and re...ference for years to come.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780947506889
            Published NZ 6 Oct 2021
            Publisher Oratia Media
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize

            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Harris, Nathan

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A powerful novel of life after slavery in the vein of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

            ISBN 9781472274380
            Released NZ 13 Jul 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            56 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Surviving Centrepoint: My years in New Zealand's most infamous cult
             

            Surviving Centrepoint: My years in New Zealand's most infamous cult (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By King, Rachel C.

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $26.25
            • Save $8.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A powerful survivor's memoir from a former child resident of New Zealand's infamous Centrepoint Community Shortly before I turned 13, my life changed forever when my family moved to the notorious Centrepoint Community on Auckland's North Shore, then at its peak. Centrepoint was f...ounded by Bert Potter, its 'spiritual leader'. He called himself God. During my four years there I was pressured into inappropriate and often frightening situations by many of its adult members. Like so many others, I have lived with the trauma and shame of these memories, but I have survived. This is my story. In this intimate and harrowing account, Rachel Clare King tells her story of the years she spent in New Zealand's notorious commune, Centrepoint, and life there under the rule of its cult leader and founder Bert Potter. Through the eyes of her young self, Rachel exposes the truth of life at Centrepoint - a hippie dream turned nightmare - with its bizarre rules, hierarchies and social controls. It was a place where children were given drugs, where free sexuality was mandated, including between adults and children, and where to resist was actively discouraged. She describes the fear and confusion of growing up in a corrupt world where wrong was right, and the grief of losing her childhood. She takes us inside the police case and court battle against one of her abusers, and the historic action that ultimately saw Potter and others charged with drug and child sex abuse crimes, and Centrepoint shut down. Surviving Centrepoint was first published under the pseudonym Ella James. Now, for the first time, and using her real name, Rachel shares her journey from physical hurt and emotional pain to the reality of survival and the healing power of telling the truth.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143776697
            Published NZ 22 Jun 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            666 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi
              

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi (Paperback)

            By Calman, Ross; Derby, Mark; Translated by Walker, Piripi; Illustrated by Morris, Toby

            • RRP: $20.00
            • $18.00
            • Save $2.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi is a reorua (bilingual) graphic novel that takes a fresh and innovative look at our founding treaty. The book reflects current scholarship and has been reviewed by some of Aotearoa's foremost Te Tiriti o Waitangi experts.

            ISBN 9780473470654
            Published NZ 13 Jun 2019
            Publisher Lift Education
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (Te Reo Maori and English)
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Uprising: Walking the Southern Alps of New Zealand
             

            Uprising: Walking the Southern Alps of New Zealand (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Low, Nic

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $30.00
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A riveting blend of nature writing, indigenous storytelling and great adventure in the NZ alps

            ISBN 9781925355284
            Published NZ 2 Jul 2021
            Publisher Text Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 1.54M jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›