Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            History, Philosophy & Religion

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 1.57M jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Atua: Maori Gods and Heroes
             

            Atua: Maori Gods and Heroes (Hardback)

            By Bishop, Gavin

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $32.00
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Supplier

            Meet the gods, demigods and heroes of the Maori people of Aotearoa in this breathtaking, large-scale illustrated book for children. Before the beginning there was nothing. No sound, no air, no colour - nothing. TE KORE, NOTHING. No one knows how long this nothing lasted because t...here was no time. However, in this great nothing there was a sense of waiting. Something was about to happen. Meet the gods, demigods and heroes of the Maori world, and explore Aotearoa's exciting legends from the Creation to the Migration. Fascinating, beautiful and informative, this once-in-a-generation compendium deserves a place on every bookshelf.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143775690
            Published NZ 31 Aug 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 5-8 years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Nz History Whalers and Sealers
             

            Nz History Whalers and Sealers (Paperback, New title)

            By Boon, Kevin

            • RRP: $6.99
            • $6.15
            • Save $0.84
            • In Stock At Supplier

            From the first sealing gangs to the establishment of whaling stations on New Zealand shores, the whalers and sealers contributed to the settlement of colonial New Zealand in many unique ways. This title is an ideal companion to the New Zealand school curriculum, for use by eight ...to fifteen-year-olds.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781869630348
            Published NZ 12 Jun 2014
            Publisher Waiatarua
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Series Developments in New Zealand History
            Availability
            14 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Tikanga: An Introduction to Te Ao Maori
              

            Tikanga: An Introduction to Te Ao Maori (Paperback)

            By Opai, Keri

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $37.99
            • Save $2.00
            • In Stock At Supplier

            A unique explanation of the Maori world for Pakeha, and for Maori people wishing to learn more about tikanga. With simple lucidity and great expertise, Keri Opai shares the spirit and meaning of what it is to be Maori in the 21st century, dispelling myths and misconceptions and p...roviding a solid introduction to the Maori way of life.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781990003172
            Published NZ 11 Nov 2021
            Publisher Upstart Press Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize

            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize (Paperback)

            By Harris, Nathan

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $20.49
            • Save $4.50
            • To Order

            A powerful American debut set during the Civil War and portraying life after slavery in the vein of WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

            ISBN 9781472274410
            Released NZ 29 Mar 2022
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            Anzac Nations: The legacy of Gallipoli in New Zealand and Australia,1965-2015
             

            Anzac Nations: The legacy of Gallipoli in New Zealand and Australia,1965-2015 (Paperback)

            By Light, Rowan

            • RRP: $50.00
            • $42.50
            • Save $7.50
            • In Stock At Supplier

            In Anzac Nations, Rowan Light examines the myth-making around Anzac and how commemoration has evolved in New Zealand and Australia. He examines the changing meanings of Anzac from the 1960s to the 1980s; the expanded role of the state since 1990; and the responses from Indigenous... and non-Indigenous communities.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781990048203
            Published NZ 30 Mar 2022
            Publisher Otago University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            227 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Fragments from a Contested Past: Remembrance, Denial and New Zealand History
              

            Fragments from a Contested Past: Remembrance, Denial and New Zealand History (Paperback)

            By Kidman, Joanna; O'Malley, Vincent; MacDonald, Liana; Roa, Tom; Wallis, Keziah

            • RRP: $14.99
            • $11.99
            • Save $3.00
            • In Stock At Supplier

            'What a nation or society chooses to remember and forget speaks to its contemporary priorities and sense of identity. Understanding how that process works enables us to better imagine a future with a different, or wider, set of priorities.' History has rarely felt more topical... or relevant as, all across the globe, nations have begun to debate who, how and what they choose to remember and forget. In this BWB Text addressing 'difficult histories', a team of five researchers, several from iwi invaded or attacked during the nineteenth-century New Zealand Wars, reflect on these questions of memory and loss locally. Combining first-hand fieldnotes from their journeys to sites of conflict and contestation with innovative archival and oral research exploring the gaps and silences in the ways we engage with the past, this group investigates how these events are remembered - or not - and how this has shaped the modern New Zealand nation.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781990046483
            Published NZ 11 Apr 2022
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series BWB Texts
            Availability
            187 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Tragedy at Pike River Mine: 2021 Edition: How and Why 29 Men Died
             

            Tragedy at Pike River Mine: 2021 Edition: How and Why 29 Men Died (Trade Paperback / Paperback, 2nd Revised edition)

            By Macfie, Rebecca

            On a sunny afternoon in November 2010, a massive explosion rocked the underground Pike River coal mine, deep in a mountain range in New Zealand's South Island. Tragedy at Pike River Mine is a dramatic, suspenseful account of a disaster that shook New Zealand and the world.

            ISBN 9781927249789
            Published NZ 30 Mar 2022
            Publisher Awa Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Availability and pricing is uncertain (no recent updates from publisher)
            View details for this title
            The Mountains Sing: Runner-up for the 2021 Dayton Literary Peace Prize
             

            The Mountains Sing: Runner-up for the 2021 Dayton Literary Peace Prize (Paperback, MMP)

            By Que Mai, Nguyen Phan

            • RRP: $23.03
            • $23.03
            • Internationally sourced

            An intimate, stirring portrait of a country at war and a family's battle to survive

            ISBN 9780861540136
            Publisher Oneworld Publications
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Protest!: Shaping Aotearoa
              

            Protest!: Shaping Aotearoa (Paperback)

            By Hager, Mandy

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $38.00
            • Save $2.00
            • In Stock At Supplier

            A selected history of the protests in New Zealand that shape modern day Aotearoa, starting with the early 1800s, through to anti-nuclear and land rights. Mandy Hager looks at the background, the structure of the protest and how it affected attitudes. Includes a brief look at the ...Pacific Islands claims for independence.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780995117693
            Published NZ 12 Aug 2021
            Publisher OneTree House Ltd
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            662 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            New Zealand Nurses: Caring for our people 1880-1950
              

            New Zealand Nurses: Caring for our people 1880-1950 (Paperback)

            By Wood, Pamela

            • RRP: $45.00
            • $45.00
            • Not Available Locally

            Pamela Wood's New Zealand Nurses draws on a wealth of stories to identify the values and traditions of the nursing culture from 1880 - when 'modern nursing' started to emerge - to 1950, after NZ had severed its final tie as part of the British Empire.

            ISBN 9781990048326
            Publisher Otago University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced on backorder; allow 4-8 weeks
            View details for this title
            Total 1.57M jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›