Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            History, Philosophy & Religion

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 1.57M jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Protest!: Shaping Aotearoa
               

            Protest!: Shaping Aotearoa (Paperback)

            By Hager, Mandy

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $32.00
            • Save $8.00
            • Pub Date
              12 Aug 21

            A selected history of the protests in New Zealand that shape modern day Aotearoa, starting with the early 1800s, through to anti-nuclear and land rights. Mandy Hager looks at the background, the structure of the protest and how it affected attitudes. Includes a brief look at the ...Pacific Islands claims for independence.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780995117693
            Published NZ 12 Aug 2021
            Publisher OneTree House Ltd
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            999 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The New Zealand Wars
             

            The New Zealand Wars (Paperback)

            By Wright, Matthew

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $26.99
            • Save $3.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            * The most concise, grounded guide to the New Zealand wars * Written by well-respected historian and author of over 60 books * Fifth title in The NZ Series, for a general readership, and tailored to new NZ history curriculum

            ISBN 9780947506933
            Published NZ 7 Jul 2021
            Publisher Oratia Media
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Series The NZ Series
            Availability
            100 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            First Encounters: New Zealand 1642-1840
              

            First Encounters: New Zealand 1642-1840 (Paperback)

            Edited by Ell, Gordon; Ell, Sarah

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $26.99
            • Save $3.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            * Compelling tales from the journals of first Europeans in Aotearoa * Targeted extracts supported by extensive illustration and fact boxes * Fourth title in The NZ Series, non-fiction aimed at readers aged 12+

            ISBN 9780947506902
            Published NZ 7 Apr 2021
            Publisher Oratia Media
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Series The NZ Series
            Availability
            106 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Tikanga
             

            Tikanga (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Tipene, Francis; Tipene, Kaiora

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The stars of The Casketeers on how to live a fulfilling life, rich with tikanga. Following on from the bestseller Life as a Casketeer, Francis and Kaiora Tipene share how they bring the traditional values of tikanga Maori into day-to-day living. Known for their warm hearts, grace... and humour, the stars of the wildly popular Netflix series The Casketeers share more of their life experiences juggling five sons, three businesses, a television show and a life filled with joy, spirituality and happiness.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775541752
            Published NZ 2 Jun 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi
              

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi (Paperback)

            By Calman, Ross; Derby, Mark; Translated by Walker, Piripi; Illustrated by Morris, Toby

            • RRP: $20.00
            • $18.00
            • Save $2.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi is a reorua (bilingual) graphic novel that takes a fresh and innovative look at our founding treaty. The book reflects current scholarship and has been reviewed by some of Aotearoa's foremost Te Tiriti o Waitangi experts.

            ISBN 9780473470654
            Published NZ 13 Jun 2019
            Publisher Lift Education
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (Te Reo Maori and English)
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Humankind: A Hopeful History

            Humankind: A Hopeful History (Paperback)

            By Bregman, Rutger

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $5.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER 'A beacon of hope for a frighted world' DANNY DORLING 'This is the book we need right now' TELEGRAPH 'It'd be no surprise if it proved to be the Sapiens of 2020' GUARDIAN It's a belief that unites the left and right, psychologists and philosophers, wri...ters and historians. It drives the headlines that surround us and the laws that touch our lives. From Machiavelli to Hobbes, Freud to Dawkins, the roots of this belief have sunk deep into Western thought. Human beings, we're taught, are by nature selfish and governed by self-interest. Humankind makes a new argument: that it is realistic, as well as revolutionary, to assume that people are good. By thinking the worst of others, we bring out the worst in our politics and economics too. In this major book, internationally bestselling author Rutger Bregman takes some of the world's most famous studies and events and reframes them, providing a new perspective on the last 200,000 years of human history. From the real-life Lord of the Flies to the Blitz, a Siberian fox farm to an infamous New York murder, Stanley Milgram's Yale shock machine to the Stanford prison experiment, Bregman shows how believing in human kindness and altruism can be a new way to think - and act as the foundation for achieving true change in our society. It is time for a new view of human nature.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781408898956
            Released NZ 1 Jun 2021
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            340 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Surviving Centrepoint: My years in New Zealand's most infamous cult
             

            Surviving Centrepoint: My years in New Zealand's most infamous cult (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By King, Rachel C.

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $26.25
            • Save $8.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A powerful survivor's memoir from a former child resident of New Zealand's infamous Centrepoint Community Shortly before I turned 13, my life changed forever when my family moved to the notorious Centrepoint Community on Auckland's North Shore, then at its peak. Centrepoint was f...ounded by Bert Potter, its 'spiritual leader'. He called himself God. During my four years there I was pressured into inappropriate and often frightening situations by many of its adult members. Like so many others, I have lived with the trauma and shame of these memories, but I have survived. This is my story. In this intimate and harrowing account, Rachel Clare King tells her story of the years she spent in New Zealand's notorious commune, Centrepoint, and life there under the rule of its cult leader and founder Bert Potter. Through the eyes of her young self, Rachel exposes the truth of life at Centrepoint - a hippie dream turned nightmare - with its bizarre rules, hierarchies and social controls. It was a place where children were given drugs, where free sexuality was mandated, including between adults and children, and where to resist was actively discouraged. She describes the fear and confusion of growing up in a corrupt world where wrong was right, and the grief of losing her childhood. She takes us inside the police case and court battle against one of her abusers, and the historic action that ultimately saw Potter and others charged with drug and child sex abuse crimes, and Centrepoint shut down. Surviving Centrepoint was first published under the pseudonym Ella James. Now, for the first time, and using her real name, Rachel shares her journey from physical hurt and emotional pain to the reality of survival and the healing power of telling the truth.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143776697
            Published NZ 22 Jun 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Uprising: Walking the Southern Alps of New Zealand
             

            Uprising: Walking the Southern Alps of New Zealand (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Low, Nic

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $30.00
            • Save $10.00
            • Reprinting

            A riveting blend of nature writing, indigenous storytelling and great adventure in the NZ alps

            ISBN 9781925355284
            Published NZ 2 Jul 2021
            Publisher Text Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Reprinting
            View details for this title
            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize

            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Harris, Nathan

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A powerful novel of life after slavery in the vein of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

            ISBN 9781472274380
            Released NZ 13 Jul 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            He Ringatoi O Nga Tupuna: Isaac Coates and his Maori portraits
              

            He Ringatoi O Nga Tupuna: Isaac Coates and his Maori portraits (Hardback)

            By Mitchell, Hilary; Mitchell, John

            • RRP: $79.99
            • $63.99
            • Save $16.00
            • Pub Date
              9 Aug 21

            Biography of English artist Isaac Coates and the historical Maori portraits he painted in Te Tau Ihu/Top of the South and the Wellington area, between1841 and 1845. Coates's meticulous records of each subject's name, iwi and place of residence are invaluable.

            ISBN 9781988550206
            Published NZ 9 Aug 2021
            Publisher Potton & Burton
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 1.57M jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›