Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            History, Philosophy & Religion

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 1.27M jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Atua: Maori Gods and Heroes
              

            Atua: Maori Gods and Heroes (Hardback)

            By Bishop, Gavin

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $31.20
            • Save $8.80
            • In Stock At Supplier

            Meet the gods, demigods and heroes of the Maori people of Aotearoa in this breathtaking, large-scale illustrated book for children. Before the beginning there was nothing. No sound, no air, no colour - nothing. TE KORE, NOTHING. No one knows how long this nothing lasted because t...here was no time. However, in this great nothing there was a sense of waiting. Something was about to happen. Meet the gods, demigods and heroes of the Maori world, and explore Aotearoa's exciting legends from the Creation to the Migration. Fascinating, beautiful and informative, this once-in-a-generation compendium deserves a place on every bookshelf.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143775690
            Published NZ 31 Aug 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 5-8 years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Nz History Whalers and Sealers
             

            Nz History Whalers and Sealers (Paperback, New title)

            By Boon, Kevin

            • RRP: $6.99
            • $6.15
            • Save $0.84
            • In Stock At Supplier

            From the first sealing gangs to the establishment of whaling stations on New Zealand shores, the whalers and sealers contributed to the settlement of colonial New Zealand in many unique ways. This title is an ideal companion to the New Zealand school curriculum, for use by eight ...to fifteen-year-olds.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781869630348
            Published NZ 12 Jun 2014
            Publisher Waiatarua
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Series Developments in New Zealand History
            Availability
            13 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            On the Farm: New Zealand's Invisible Women
             

            On the Farm: New Zealand's Invisible Women (Paperback)

            By Hall, David

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $36.00
            • Save $4.00
            • Temporarily out of stock

            On the Farm: New Zealand's Invisible Women tells the fascinating stories of Kiwi farm women predominantly in their own words, and shows how they struggled for greater recognition for their contributions to farming. A valuable contribution to Aotearoa New Zealand's record of herst...ory. - Danna Glendining, Nat. Council for the Employment of Women
            Read more

            ISBN 9781991159113
            Published NZ 11 Jul 2022
            Publisher Atuanui Press Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            Night

            Night (Paperback)

            By Wiesel, Elie; Wiesel, Marion

            • RRP: $26.00
            • $20.28
            • Save $5.72
            • In Stock At Supplier

            Born into a Jewish ghetto in Hungary, as a child, Elie Wiesel was sent to the Nazi concentration camps at Auschwitz and Buchenwald. This title presents an account of that atrocity: the ever-increasing horrors he endured, the loss of his family and his struggle to survive in a wor...ld that stripped him of humanity, dignity and faith.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780141038995
            Released NZ 10 Nov 2008
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Penguin Modern Classics
            Language (English)
            Availability
            999 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Fragments from a Contested Past: Remembrance, Denial and New Zealand History
              

            Fragments from a Contested Past: Remembrance, Denial and New Zealand History (Paperback)

            By Kidman, Joanna; O'Malley, Vincent; MacDonald, Liana; Roa, Tom; Wallis, Keziah

            • RRP: $14.99
            • $11.99
            • Save $3.00
            • In Stock At Supplier

            'What a nation or society chooses to remember and forget speaks to its contemporary priorities and sense of identity. Understanding how that process works enables us to better imagine a future with a different, or wider, set of priorities.' History has rarely felt more topical... or relevant as, all across the globe, nations have begun to debate who, how and what they choose to remember and forget. In this BWB Text addressing 'difficult histories', a team of five researchers, several from iwi invaded or attacked during the nineteenth-century New Zealand Wars, reflect on these questions of memory and loss locally. Combining first-hand fieldnotes from their journeys to sites of conflict and contestation with innovative archival and oral research exploring the gaps and silences in the ways we engage with the past, this group investigates how these events are remembered - or not - and how this has shaped the modern New Zealand nation.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781990046483
            Published NZ 11 Apr 2022
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series BWB Texts
            Availability
            691 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize
             

            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize (Paperback)

            By Harris, Nathan

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $20.49
            • Save $4.50
            • Ready to ship

            A powerful American debut set during the Civil War and portraying life after slavery in the vein of WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

            ISBN 9781472274410
            Released NZ 29 Mar 2022
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            1 Ready to ship - Allow 3-5 days
            121 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            A New Dawn
               

            A New Dawn (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Sione, Emeli; Edited by Malaeulu, Dahlia

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $33.24
            • Save $1.75
            • Available At Supplier

            Emeli Sione shares her Dawn Raid story to help us understand the real impact of this dark time in our history. With valuable lessons for all New Zealanders, A New Dawn provides us with hope on our journeys of equality, justice and healing as Pasifika in New Zealand.

            ISBN 9780473630287
            Published NZ 1 Aug 2022
            Publisher Dahlia Malaeulu
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available at supplier; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Dark Music: The gripping new thriller from the author of THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB
             

            Dark Music: The gripping new thriller from the author of THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Lagercrantz, David; Translated by Giles, Ian

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • Pub Date
              23 Aug 22

            A gripping new thriller from the bestselling author of THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB

            ISBN 9781529413182
            Released NZ 23 Aug 2022
            Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Last Hours in Paris: The greatest story of love, war and sacrifice in this gripping World War 2 historical fiction

            The Last Hours in Paris: The greatest story of love, war and sacrifice in this gripping World War 2 historical fiction (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Druart, Ruth

            • RRP: $36.99
            • $30.33
            • Save $6.66
            • In Stock At Supplier

            Set in occupied Paris, this epic, powerful story of love, betrayal and atonement sheds light on the events of Liberation and its aftermath. A novel that will stay with you for ever.

            ISBN 9781472268037
            Released NZ 12 Jul 2022
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Thief, Convict, Pirate, Wife: The Many Histories of Charlotte Badger: 2022
             

            Thief, Convict, Pirate, Wife: The Many Histories of Charlotte Badger: 2022 (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Ashton, Jennifer

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $33.25
            • Save $1.75
            • In Stock At Supplier

            Thief, Convict, Pirate, Wife: Unravelling the many mysteries surrounding one of the first Pakeha women residents in New Zealand.

            ISBN 9781869409579
            Published NZ 14 Jul 2022
            Publisher Auckland University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            821 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 1.27M jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›