Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            History

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 915K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Protest!: Shaping Aotearoa
              

            Protest!: Shaping Aotearoa (Paperback)

            By Hager, Mandy

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $32.00
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A selected history of the protests in New Zealand that shape modern day Aotearoa, starting with the early 1800s, through to anti-nuclear and land rights. Mandy Hager looks at the background, the structure of the protest and how it affected attitudes. Includes a brief look at the ...Pacific Islands claims for independence.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780995117693
            Published NZ 12 Aug 2021
            Publisher OneTree House Ltd
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The New Zealand Wars
             

            The New Zealand Wars (Paperback)

            By Wright, Matthew

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $26.99
            • Save $3.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            * The most concise, grounded guide to the New Zealand wars * Written by well-respected historian and author of over 60 books * Fifth title in The NZ Series, for a general readership, and tailored to new NZ history curriculum

            ISBN 9780947506933
            Published NZ 7 Jul 2021
            Publisher Oratia Media
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Series The NZ Series
            Availability
            78 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Ngake me Whataitai: 2021
             

            Ngake me Whataitai: 2021 (Paperback)

            By Ngaia, Ben; Illustrated by Mutton-Rogers, Laya

            • RRP: $20.00
            • $16.00
            • Save $4.00
            • Available At Publisher

            This is a traditional story told in te reo Maori from the perspective of the Kahui Maunga people about Ngake and Whataitai. These two taniwha inhabited Te Whanganui-a-Tara, Wellington Harbour, long before the ancestral migrations. The story tells how the shape and landscape... of Wellington, its harbour and the Lower Hutt area came about because of the actions of Ngake and Whataitai. Long ago, Te Whanganui a Tara was an enclosed lake, but Ngake forced his way out into the sea by battering through the clenched teeth of the fish of Maui to allow the fish to breathe. Whataitai was washed down the throat of the fish, causing it to cough, and Whataitai and three morsels flew out. The morsels became islands in the harbour, but Whataitai was stranded and grew weak and died, becoming part of the land around the harbour
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775506379
            Published NZ 1 Mar 2021
            Publisher Huia Publishers
            Interest Age 8-12 years
            Language (Te Reo Maori)
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi
               

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi (Paperback)

            By Calman, Ross; Derby, Mark; Translated by Walker, Piripi; Illustrated by Morris, Toby

            • RRP: $20.00
            • $18.00
            • Save $2.00
            • Ready to ship

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi is a reorua (bilingual) graphic novel that takes a fresh and innovative look at our founding treaty. The book reflects current scholarship and has been reviewed by some of Aotearoa's foremost Te Tiriti o Waitangi experts.

            ISBN 9780473470654
            Published NZ 13 Jun 2019
            Publisher Lift Education
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (Te Reo Maori and English)
            Availability
            1 Ready to ship - Allow 3-5 days
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Uprising: Walking the Southern Alps of New Zealand
             

            Uprising: Walking the Southern Alps of New Zealand (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Low, Nic

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $30.00
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A riveting blend of nature writing, indigenous storytelling and great adventure in the NZ alps

            ISBN 9781925355284
            Published NZ 2 Jul 2021
            Publisher Text Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            He Ringatoi O Nga Tupuna: Isaac Coates and his Maori portraits
             

            He Ringatoi O Nga Tupuna: Isaac Coates and his Maori portraits (Hardback)

            By Mitchell, Hilary; Mitchell, John

            • RRP: $79.99
            • $63.99
            • Save $16.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Biography of English artist Isaac Coates and the historical Maori portraits he painted in Te Tau Ihu/Top of the South and the Wellington area, between1841 and 1845. Coates's meticulous records of each subject's name, iwi and place of residence are invaluable.

            ISBN 9781988550206
            Published NZ 9 Aug 2021
            Publisher Potton & Burton
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            413 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Reawakened: Traditional navigators of Te Moana-nui-a-Kiwa
             

            Reawakened: Traditional navigators of Te Moana-nui-a-Kiwa (Paperback)

            By Evans, Jeff; Foreword by Baybayan, Kalepa

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $33.99
            • Save $6.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            This book features interviews with 10 master navigators who trained under Mau Piailug, the legendary teacher of traditional wayfinding methods for open-ocean voyaging across the Pacific. They were given the status of master navigator by Mau, and went on to become an integral part... of the renaissance of knowledge and traditions around voyaging.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780995131804
            Published NZ 10 Jun 2021
            Publisher Massey University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            969 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Steve Hansen: The Legacy
             

            Steve Hansen: The Legacy (Hardback)

            By Paul, Gregor

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $37.49
            • Save $12.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The making of a New Zealand coaching great The revealing biography of the All Blacks' most enigmatic, most successful coach.

            ISBN 9781775541714
            Published NZ 4 Aug 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize

            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Harris, Nathan

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A powerful novel of life after slavery in the vein of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

            ISBN 9781472274380
            Released NZ 13 Jul 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            429 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Asterix and the Griffin: Album 39
             

            Asterix and the Griffin: Album 39 (Hardback)

            By Ferri, Jean-Yves; Illustrated by Conrad, Didier

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • Pub Date
              9 Nov 21

            The latest action-packed adventure from the indomitable Gauls.

            ISBN 9780751583984
            Released NZ 9 Nov 2021
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age Children
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 915K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›