Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            American History

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 141K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize

            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Harris, Nathan

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A powerful novel of life after slavery in the vein of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

            ISBN 9781472274380
            Released NZ 13 Jul 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            VIETNAM ANZACS: Australians and New Zealanders in the Vietnam War
               

            VIETNAM ANZACS: Australians and New Zealanders in the Vietnam War (Hardback)

            By Howell, Tony

            • RRP: $86.00
            • $86.00
            • Pub Date
              17 Aug 21

            This book is a commentary on the ANZAC forces involvement in the second Indo-China (Vietnam) War during the period 1965 to 1971.

            ISBN 9780995121928
            Published NZ 17 Aug 2021
            Publisher John Douglas Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Black Like Me
             

            Black Like Me (Paperback, 50th Anniversary ed.)

            Epilogue by Griffin, John Howard; Afterword by Bonazzi, Robert

            • RRP: $21.00
            • $15.75
            • Save $5.25
            • To Order

            Essential reading . . . a social document of the first order, ( San Francisco Chronicle ) this history-making classic about crossing the color line in the segregated South is a searing work of nonfiction, a chillingly relevant eyewitness account of race and humanity.

            ISBN 9780451234216
            Released NZ 20 Oct 2010
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            A Short History of The Vietnam War
             

            A Short History of The Vietnam War (Hardback)

            By DK; Contributions by Institution, Smithsonian

            • RRP: $48.00
            • $36.00
            • Save $12.00
            • Pub Date
              28 Sep 21

            This is the definitive story of one of the longest and most controversial conflicts in US history. Created in association with the Smithsonian Institution, this authoritative history of the Vietnam War examines the key figures and events of the conflict, and its lasting effects o...n the world. Combining compelling text with maps and archive photography, A Short History of the Vietnam War is an all-encompassing showcase of every aspect of the fighting and the wider political landscape, from the struggle for civil rights to the treatment of prisoners. Detailed descriptions of events, from Operation Passage to Freedom to the evacuation of the US embassy in Saigon, are brought to life with eyewitness accounts and iconic photographs. Gallery pages present collections of infantry weapons, artillery, aircraft, and armored vehicles, while diagrams and maps show exactly how battles and decisive moments unfolded, and biographical entries provide essential insight into the roles of significant individuals from Henry Kissinger to General Thieu. The perfect read for the military history enthusiast, A Short History of the Vietnam War is a stirring visual record of the suffering, sacrifice, and heroism that occurred in America's bloodiest ever conflicts.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241471289
            Released NZ 28 Sep 2021
            Publisher Dorling Kindersley Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Ground Breaking: The Tulsa Race Massacre and an American City's Search for Justice
             

            The Ground Breaking: The Tulsa Race Massacre and an American City's Search for Justice (Hardback)

            By Ellsworth, Scott

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.19
            • Save $8.80
            • Pub Date
              20 Aug 21

            A gripping exploration of the worst single incident of racial violence in American history, timed to coincide with its 100th anniversary.

            ISBN 9781785787270
            Released NZ 20 Aug 2021
            Publisher Icon Books Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Hidden Figures: The Untold Story of the African American Women Who Helped Win the Space Race

            Hidden Figures: The Untold Story of the African American Women Who Helped Win the Space Race (Paperback)

            By Shetterly, Margot Lee

            • RRP: $26.99
            • $20.24
            • Save $6.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE Set amid the civil rights movement, the never-before-told true story of NASA's African-American female mathematicians who played a crucial role in America's space program.

            ISBN 9780008201326
            Released NZ 19 Dec 2016
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            352 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Battle for the Big Top: P.T. Barnum, James Bailey, John Ringling, and the Death-Defying Saga of the American Circus
             

            Battle for the Big Top: P.T. Barnum, James Bailey, John Ringling, and the Death-Defying Saga of the American Circus (Hardback)

            By Standiford, Les

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $44.99
            • Save $5.00
            • Pub Date
              28 Sep 21

            A New York Times bestselling author writes the untold story of three Golden Age titans and the confrontations, cutthroat business strategies, and eccentric personalities that built the Ringling Bros., Barnum & Bailey Circus.

            ISBN 9781541762282
            Released NZ 28 Sep 2021
            Publisher Misc - Alliance Distribution
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Wake: The Hidden History of Women-Led Slave Revolts
             

            Wake: The Hidden History of Women-Led Slave Revolts (Hardback)

            By Hall, Rebecca; Illustrated by Martinez, Hugo

            • RRP: $63.99
            • $49.42
            • Save $14.57
            • In Stock US

            A historical and imaginative graphic novel that brings to light the existence of enslaved Black women warriors, Adono and Alele, on the slave ship The Unity. A historical tour-de-force, Wake is a graphic novel that offers invaluable insight into the endless struggle for survival ...as a Black woman in today's America. It is a historiography that illuminates both the challenges and the necessity of uncovering the true stories of slavery and is an overdue reckoning with slavery in New York City, where armed revolts took place. This transformative and transporting work of imaginative fiction brings characters Adono and Alele, and their pasts as women warriors, to vivid life. Timely, powerful, and empowering Wake illustrates the humanity of the enslaved, the reality of their lived experiences, and the complexity of the history that has been, until now, thoroughly erased.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781982115180
            Released NZ 1 Jun 2021
            Publisher Simon & Schuster
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            A History of the United States
              

            A History of the United States (Trade Paperback / Paperback, 5th ed. 2017)

            By Jenkins, Philip

            • RRP: $68.85
            • $68.85
            • Internationally sourced

            This established introductory text provides an authoritative account of the course of American history, discussing political, social, economic and cultural developments. In this revised new edition, Jenkins offers updated material on the economic crisis and gay rights, and new ma...terial on sport, technology, and the 2016 presidential election.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781137573520
            Released NZ 19 Apr 2017
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Series Macmillan Essential Histories
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            A Fierce Glory: Antietam--The Desperate Battle That Saved Lincoln and Doomed Slavery

            A Fierce Glory: Antietam--The Desperate Battle That Saved Lincoln and Doomed Slavery (Hardback)

            By Martin, Justin

            • RRP: $45.99
            • $34.49
            • Save $11.50
            • Back Order Indent title

            From an acclaimed author and historian, the dramatic, character-rich story of Antietam--the high-stakes battle Lincoln needed to win to save the Union and free the slaves

            ISBN 9780306825255
            Released NZ 13 Nov 2018
            Publisher Hachette
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Back Order Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            Total 141K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›