Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            American History

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 138K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize

            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Harris, Nathan

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A powerful novel of life after slavery in the vein of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

            ISBN 9781472274380
            Released NZ 13 Jul 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            429 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            VIETNAM ANZACS: Australians and New Zealanders in the Vietnam War
              

            VIETNAM ANZACS: Australians and New Zealanders in the Vietnam War (Hardback)

            By Howell, Tony

            • RRP: $86.00
            • $86.00
            • Available At Publisher

            This book is a commentary on the ANZAC forces involvement in the second Indo-China (Vietnam) War during the period 1965 to 1971.

            ISBN 9780995121928
            Published NZ 17 Aug 2021
            Publisher John Douglas Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Ethel Rosenberg: A Cold War Tragedy

            Ethel Rosenberg: A Cold War Tragedy (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Sebba, Anne

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The tragic story of Ethel Rosenberg, the first woman in America to be sent to her death for a crime other than murder

            ISBN 9781474619615
            Released NZ 29 Jun 2021
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            330 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            A Short History of The Vietnam War
             

            A Short History of The Vietnam War (Hardback)

            By DK; Contributions by Institution, Smithsonian

            • RRP: $48.00
            • $36.00
            • Save $12.00
            • Pub Date
              28 Sep 21

            This is the definitive story of one of the longest and most controversial conflicts in US history. Created in association with the Smithsonian Institution, this authoritative history of the Vietnam War examines the key figures and events of the conflict, and its lasting effects o...n the world. Combining compelling text with maps and archive photography, A Short History of the Vietnam War is an all-encompassing showcase of every aspect of the fighting and the wider political landscape, from the struggle for civil rights to the treatment of prisoners. Detailed descriptions of events, from Operation Passage to Freedom to the evacuation of the US embassy in Saigon, are brought to life with eyewitness accounts and iconic photographs. Gallery pages present collections of infantry weapons, artillery, aircraft, and armored vehicles, while diagrams and maps show exactly how battles and decisive moments unfolded, and biographical entries provide essential insight into the roles of significant individuals from Henry Kissinger to General Thieu. The perfect read for the military history enthusiast, A Short History of the Vietnam War is a stirring visual record of the suffering, sacrifice, and heroism that occurred in America's bloodiest ever conflicts.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241471289
            Released NZ 28 Sep 2021
            Publisher Dorling Kindersley Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            465 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Platoon Commander

            The Platoon Commander (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By O'Halloran, John; Teague, Ric

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $28.49
            • Save $9.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            At the start of the Vietnam War John O'Halloran was a national serviceman from Tamworth and never expected to serve overseas. He would go on to lead with distinction as a platoon commander in 6RAR's B Company at three of the biggest conflicts of the Vietnam War. This is one soldi...er's extraordinary account of a war that still haunts Australia.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780733647475
            Published NZ 9 Jun 2021
            Publisher Hachette
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            843 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Ground Breaking: The Tulsa Race Massacre and an American City's Search for Justice

            The Ground Breaking: The Tulsa Race Massacre and an American City's Search for Justice (Hardback)

            By Ellsworth, Scott

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.19
            • Save $8.80
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A gripping exploration of the worst single incident of racial violence in American history, timed to coincide with its 100th anniversary.

            ISBN 9781785787270
            Released NZ 20 Aug 2021
            Publisher Icon Books Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            126 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Underground: Marsupial Outlaws and Other Rebels of Australia's War in Vietnam

            Underground: Marsupial Outlaws and Other Rebels of Australia's War in Vietnam (Paperback)

            By Burton, Mirranda

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Led by an unconscientiously objecting wombat registered for military service during Australia's war in Vietnam, Underground digs tunnels through a chapter of Australian history that many have attempted to bury.

            ISBN 9781760631475
            Published NZ 3 Aug 2021
            Publisher Allen & Unwin
            Interest Age 14+ years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Hidden Figures: The Untold Story of the African American Women Who Helped Win the Space Race

            Hidden Figures: The Untold Story of the African American Women Who Helped Win the Space Race (Paperback)

            By Shetterly, Margot Lee

            • RRP: $26.99
            • $20.24
            • Save $6.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE Set amid the civil rights movement, the never-before-told true story of NASA's African-American female mathematicians who played a crucial role in America's space program.

            ISBN 9780008201326
            Released NZ 19 Dec 2016
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            96 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Battle for the Big Top: P.T. Barnum, James Bailey, John Ringling, and the Death-Defying Saga of the American Circus
             

            Battle for the Big Top: P.T. Barnum, James Bailey, John Ringling, and the Death-Defying Saga of the American Circus (Hardback)

            By Standiford, Les

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $39.99
            • Save $10.00
            • Pub Date
              28 Sep 21

            A New York Times bestselling author writes the untold story of three Golden Age titans and the confrontations, cutthroat business strategies, and eccentric personalities that built the Ringling Bros., Barnum & Bailey Circus.

            ISBN 9781541762282
            Released NZ 28 Sep 2021
            Publisher Misc - Alliance Distribution
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Wake: The Hidden History of Women-Led Slave Revolts

            Wake: The Hidden History of Women-Led Slave Revolts (Hardback)

            By Hall, Rebecca; Illustrated by Martinez, Hugo

            • RRP: $50.00
            • $37.50
            • Save $12.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            For as far back as she can remember, historian and activist Rebecca Hall has been looking for tales of women warriors in the history of American slave resistance. The problem, she found, is that almost everywhere she looked - in the archives, in the history books - there was a bl...ank space. All the Black women who had fought and rebelled had been obscured, ignored, and blotted out. This is their story, and the story of uncovering their struggle. Strikingly illustrated by Hugo Martinez, Wake combines forensic historiography with powerful imaginative reconstruction to explore the humanity of the enslaved, the reality of their lives, and the complexity of a history that has been hidden.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241523551
            Released NZ 14 Sep 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            56 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 138K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›