Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Biography & Autobiography: General

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 20.2K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Tomorrow Will Be A Good Day: My Autobiography - The Sunday Times No 1 Bestseller

            Tomorrow Will Be A Good Day: My Autobiography - The Sunday Times No 1 Bestseller (Hardback)

            By Moore, Captain Tom

            • RRP: $48.00
            • $36.00
            • Save $12.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Pre-order the extraordinary, heartwarming autobiography of Captain Tom Moore, the man who captured the nation's heart in lockdown. Captain Tom Moore is an inspiration. At the height of the Covid-19 pandemic in early April this ninety-nine-year-old Second World War veteran came up... with a big idea: he'd walk laps of his garden to raise money for the NHS. Despite using a walking frame as well as recent treatment for cancer and a broken hip, he was determined to hit GBP1000 by his 100th birthday on 30th April. By the time the telegram from the Queen arrived, he'd raised over thirty million pounds. In this, his official autobiography, published in support of the creation of the Captain Tom Foundation, he tells us of his long and dramatic life. How his spirit was forged on the battlefields of Burma where victory was snatched from the jaws of defeat. How he fearlessly raced motorbikes competitively. How, in his nineties, he took off for the Himalayas and Everest, simply because he'd never been. And, finally, how this old soldier came to do his bit for the NHS, becoming the nation's hero in our darkest hour. A modest, decent, charming man with a can-do attitude and a twinkle in his eye, Captain Tom's story is that of a man whose insatiable curiosity and appetite for life have led him around so many unexpected corners - finding both adventure and joy. He only wanted to help other people - and yet he has inspired a nation to believe anything is possible by reminding us all it is never, ever too late.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241486108
            Released NZ 17 Sep 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Night

            Night (Paperback)

            By Wiesel, Elie; Wiesel, Marion

            • RRP: $26.00
            • $19.50
            • Save $6.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Born into a Jewish ghetto in Hungary, as a child, Elie Wiesel was sent to the Nazi concentration camps at Auschwitz and Buchenwald. This title presents an account of that atrocity: the ever-increasing horrors he endured, the loss of his family and his struggle to survive in a wor...ld that stripped him of humanity, dignity and faith.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780141038995
            Released NZ 10 Nov 2008
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Penguin Modern Classics
            Language (English)
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Killing Time: Short stories from the long road home

            Killing Time: Short stories from the long road home (Hardback)

            By Barnes, Jimmy

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $37.49
            • Save $12.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            From the rock legend turned master storyteller, this collection of non-fiction short stories is vintage Jimmy. Stories of adventure, misadventure, love and loss from the #1 bestselling author of the critically acclaimed memoirs Working Class Boy and Working Class Man. Outrageous,... witty, warm and wise, Killing Time shares more than 40 yarns from an epic life - a dazzling collection of tall tales, out-takes and B-sides from one of Australia's finest storytellers.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781460759486
            Published NZ 7 Oct 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Moment of Lift: How Empowering Women Changes the World

            The Moment of Lift: How Empowering Women Changes the World (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Gates, Melinda

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A passionate argument for female empowerment by Melinda Gates, one of the world's most admired and respected women.

            ISBN 9781760783327
            Published NZ 23 Apr 2019
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Chasing The Light: How I Fought My Way into Hollywood - From the 1960s to Platoon

            Chasing The Light: How I Fought My Way into Hollywood - From the 1960s to Platoon (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Stone, Oliver

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A rare, controversial, and totally no holds barred memoir from one of Hollywood's greats.

            ISBN 9781913183547
            Released NZ 29 Sep 2020
            Publisher OCTOPUS PUBLISHING GROUP
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Mary's Last Dance: The untold story of the wife of Mao's Last Dancer
             

            Mary's Last Dance: The untold story of the wife of Mao's Last Dancer (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Li, Mary

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $30.00
            • Save $10.00
            • Pub Date
              3 Nov 20

            'I can vividly remember the last steps of the last ballet, walking off the stage led by a mother and knowing the decision I had to make. That was my last dance.' Mary Li (nee McKendry) is an international ballet star and a mother like no other. She became a household name when he...r husband Li Cunxin published his bestselling memoir, Mao's Last Dancer - but that book told only half the story. Growing up in a rambunctious family in Rockhampton, Mary discovered an extraordinary early passion for ballet. It saw her move to London at age sixteen, to study at the Royal Ballet School and dance at the London Festival Ballet with the likes of Nureyev, and later to Houston Ballet, where as Principal Dancer she fell in love with the acclaimed Chinese ballet dancer Li Cunxin. The couple became the darlings of the dance world, and were happier than they could have imagined at the arrival of their firstborn daughter, Sophie. Then right at the height of her international career, Mary seemingly disappeared from view, leaving the fans aghast. What could have happened to cause a woman so committed, so talented, to give it all away in a heartbeat? Now, almost twenty years on, fans finally get their answer about what happened next to this inspiring family, and learn why it is Mary's turn to tell a truly remarkable tale. Mary's Last Dance is a powerful and uplifting memoir about chasing an impossible dream, and sacrificing one's own ambition for the love of a child. It is a moving and unforgettable story of passion, dedication and devotion - and the highly anticipated sequel to one of the world's most beloved books.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780143789710
            Published NZ 3 Nov 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Women Don't Owe You Pretty: The debut book from Florence Given

            Women Don't Owe You Pretty: The debut book from Florence Given (Hardback)

            By Given, Florence

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $23.39
            • Save $6.60
            • Delayed Release

            'The Beauty Myth' for the Instagram generation.

            ISBN 9781788402118
            Released NZ 14 Jul 2020
            Publisher OCTOPUS PUBLISHING GROUP
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Pre-order title, release date has been delayed
            View details for this title
            The Smallest Lights In The Universe

            The Smallest Lights In The Universe (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Seager, Sara

            • RRP: $36.99
            • $27.74
            • Save $9.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In The Smallest Lights in the Universe, MIT astrophysicist Sara Seager interweaves the story of her search for meaning and solace after losing her first husband to cancer, her unflagging search for an Earth-like exoplanet and her unexpected discovery of new love.

            ISBN 9780008328269
            Released NZ 1 Sep 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Meaning of Mariah Carey

            The Meaning of Mariah Carey (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Carey, Mariah

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • Temporarily out of stock

            A fascinating and timely new book.

            ISBN 9781529038965
            Released NZ 29 Sep 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            Diamonds at the Lost and Found: A Memoir in Search of My Mother
             

            Diamonds at the Lost and Found: A Memoir in Search of My Mother (Hardback, Contains 1 Hardback)

            By Aspinall, Sarah

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • Pub Date
              5 Nov 20

            For readers of Hideous Kinky, Dadland and Bad Blood; the astonishing, beguiling story of Sarah Aspinall's harum scarum childhood, and a love letter to a woman who defied convention to live a life less ordinary.

            ISBN 9780008375164
            Released NZ 5 Nov 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 20.2K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›