Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Biography & Autobiography: Religious & Spiritual

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 11.7K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Tap Code: The Epic Survival Tale of a Vietnam POW and the Secret Code That Changed Everything
             

            Tap Code: The Epic Survival Tale of a Vietnam POW and the Secret Code That Changed Everything (EPUB ebook)

            By Harris, Carlyle S.; Berry, Sara W.

            Tap Code is the untold story of ex-Vietnam POW Colonel Carlyle "Smitty" Harris, who brought hope, strength, and the love of God to fellow American POWs by secretly reviving a long-unused military communication code. It was a lifeline as they endured torture and abuse, bringing un...ity and ultimately helping them prevail over a brutal enemy.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780310359128
            Available in EPUB
            Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
            Language en
            Released NZ 5 Nov 2019
            Publisher Zondervan
            Interest Age General Audience
            View details for this title
            A Sceptic's Search for Meaning
              

            A Sceptic's Search for Meaning (EPUB ebook)

            By Willesee, Mike

            'Willesee has always been a news-hound in pursuit of a story.' Sydney Morning HeraldPerfect for fans of Proof of Heaven, this part memoir, part investigation is a spellbinding spiritual quest around the world and deep into the heart of life's ultimate riddle. Is there life after ...death? Does God exist? How do you explain miracles? In a career spanning fifty years and thousands of stories, legendary Australian journalist Mike Willesee dared to pose the big questions as part of his ongoing quest for meaning.Born into the Catholic faith, with early ambitions to be a priest, he tried to escape his spiritual destiny by pursuing a path as an investigative journalist. But fate kept catching up, as A Sceptic's Search for Meaning reveals. He had a premonition his plane was going to crash, moments before it did.He found himself the neighbour of one of Australia's most passionate investigators of mystical phenomena, who convinced Mike to join him on his quest. Among many such adventures, Mike flew to Bolivia to interview Katya Rivas, dubbed 'God's secretary'. He watched as the barely literate woman who claimed never to have read the Bible wrote page after page of perfect theology in multiple languages. He also sat by her bed as blood started to ooze from her brow, her hands and her feet - the telltale signs of stigmata.Written in his final year as Mike fought a losing battle with cancer, A Sceptic's Search for Meaning is a moving and intriguing tale of one man's attempt to make sense of the profound mysteries of faith.PRAISE FOR MEMOIRS'A cracking tale of good fortune, ambition, risk-taking, self-belief and driving curiosity.' Daily Telegraph
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760789077
            Available in EPUB
            Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
            Language en
            Released NZ 29 Oct 2019
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age General Audience
            Ebook Terms Titles are sold with a 2 year time limit or 52 loans. view?
            Loan Credits 52
            Each copy purchased buys 52 loan credits to be used on your eplatform portal
            View details for this title
            Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven--and Back
             

            Flight to Heaven: A Plane Crash...A Lone Survivor...A Journey to Heaven--and Back (EPUB ebook)

            By Black, Capt. Dale; Gire, Ken

            The pilot--and only survivor--of a horrific airplane crash gives a breathtaking account of heaven and provides insight into life after death.

            ISBN 9781441211767
            Available in EPUB
            Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
            Language en
            Released NZ 1 May 2010
            Publisher Baker Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            View details for this title
            Pure: Inside the Evangelical Movement That Shamed a Generation of Young Women and How I Broke Free

            Pure: Inside the Evangelical Movement That Shamed a Generation of Young Women and How I Broke Free (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Klein, Linda Kay

            • RRP: $30.99
            • $23.24
            • Save $7.75
            • To Order

            In Pure, Linda Kay Klein uses a potent combination of journalism, cultural commentary, and memoir to take us inside religious purity culture as only one who grew up in it can (Gloria Steinem) and reveals the devastating effects evangelical Christianity's views on female sexuality... has had on a generation of young women. In the 1990s, a purity industry emerged out of the white evangelical Christian culture. Purity rings, purity pledges, and purity balls came with a dangerous message: girls are potential sexual stumbling blocks for boys and men, and any expression of a girl's sexuality could reflect the corruption of her character. This message traumatized many girls--resulting in anxiety, fear, and experiences that mimicked the symptoms of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder--and trapped them in a cycle of shame. This is the sex education Linda Kay Klein grew up with. Fearing being marked a Jezebel, Klein broke up with her high school boyfriend because she thought God told her to and took pregnancy tests despite being a virgin, terrified that any sexual activity would be punished with an out-of-wedlock pregnancy. When the youth pastor of her church was convicted of sexual enticement of a twelve-year-old girl, Klein began to question purity-based sexual ethics. She contacted young women she knew, asking if they were coping with the same shame-induced issues she was. These intimate conversations developed into a twelve-year quest that took her across the country and into the lives of women raised in similar religious communities--a journey that facilitated her own healing and led her to churches that are seeking a new way to reconcile sexuality and spirituality. Pure is a revelation... Part memoir and part journalism, Pure is a horrendous, granular, relentless, emotionally true account (The Cut) of society's larger subjugation of women and the role the purity industry played in maintaining it. Offering a prevailing message of resounding hope and encouragement, Pure emboldens
            Read more

            ISBN 9781501124822
            Released NZ 1 Jul 2019
            Publisher Atria Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            In Love with the World: What a Buddhist Monk Can Teach You About Living from Nearly Dying

            In Love with the World: What a Buddhist Monk Can Teach You About Living from Nearly Dying (Hardback)

            By Rinpoche, Yongey Mingyur; Foreword by Williams, Mark; With Tworkov, Helen

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The Buddhist master brings together ancient wisdom learned throughout his life and on his four-year wandering retreat, with innovative meditation techniques for a more enlightened and happier life.

            ISBN 9781509899326
            Released NZ 14 May 2019
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            By the Light of the Moon
             

            By the Light of the Moon (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Gavin, Bernadette Marama

            • RRP: $41.99
            • $41.99
            • Available

            A personal, raw and honest love story told through the unique poetic voice of a young woman who finds herself on an epic four-year, high-seas adventure in extraordinary situations, in exotic locations, and through these experiences finds her lost voice and inner strength.

            ISBN 9780473452544
            Published NZ 1 Jan 2018
            Publisher Misc - South Pacific Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available from publisher, allow 2-4 weeks for delivery
            View details for this title
            Karl Marx: Philosophy and Revolution

            Karl Marx: Philosophy and Revolution (Hardback)

            By Avineri, Shlomo

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $47.49
            • Save $2.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A new exploration of Karl Marx's life through his intellectual contributions to modern thought

            ISBN 9780300211702
            Released NZ 15 Sep 2019
            Publisher Yale University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Jewish Lives
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            That Good Night: Life and Medicine in the Eleventh Hour

            That Good Night: Life and Medicine in the Eleventh Hour (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Puri, Sunita

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The beautifully written, evocative memoir of a palliative care doctor.

            ISBN 9781472131331
            Released NZ 12 Mar 2019
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Road to Jonestown: Jim Jones and Peoples Temple

            The Road to Jonestown: Jim Jones and Peoples Temple (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Guinn, Jeff

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $23.39
            • Save $6.60
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Synopsis coming soon.......

            ISBN 9781476763835
            Released NZ 1 Sep 2018
            Publisher Simon & Schuster
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Light Between Us: Lessons from Heaven That Teach Us to Live Better in the Here and Now
             

            The Light Between Us: Lessons from Heaven That Teach Us to Live Better in the Here and Now (Paperback)

            By Jackson, Laura Lynne

            • Imp. $29.50
            • $23.60
            • Save $5.90
            • No availability locally

            Helps you how we can also look for messages from our loved ones who have passed. This title explains the science behind author's work, and how we can all find it within ourselves to touch the other side.

            ISBN 9781784751067
            Released NZ 15 Sep 2016
            Publisher Cornerstone
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
            View details for this title
            Total 11.7K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›