Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Science

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 245K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Kew Gardens Girls: An emotional and sweeping historical novel perfect for fans of Kate Morton
             

            The Kew Gardens Girls: An emotional and sweeping historical novel perfect for fans of Kate Morton (Hardback, Unabridged edition)

            By Lovell, Posy; Read by Aldington, Annie

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $38.99
            • Save $11.00
            • Pub Date
              11 Aug 20

            A wartime saga that highlights the role of women at Kew Gardens, licensed publishing with heritage brand Kew Gardens

            ISBN 9781409193272
            Released NZ 11 Aug 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Nine Pints: A Journey Through the Mysterious, Miraculous World of Blood

            Nine Pints: A Journey Through the Mysterious, Miraculous World of Blood (Paperback)

            By George, Rose

            • RRP: $27.99
            • $21.83
            • Save $6.16
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Most humans contain between nine and twelve pints of blood. Here Rose George, who probably contains nine pints, tells nine different stories about the liquid that sustains us, discovering what it reveals about who we are. In Nepal, she meets girls challenging the taboos surroundi...ng menstruation; in the Canadian prairies, she visits a controversial plasma clinic; in Wales she gets a tour of the UK's only leech farm to learn about the vital role the creatures still play in modern surgery; and in a London hospital she accompanies a medical team revolutionising the way we treat trauma. Nine Pints reveals the richness and wonder of the potent red fluid that courses around our bodies, unseen but miraculous.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781846276149
            Released NZ 4 Sep 2019
            Publisher Granta Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Hex

            Hex (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Dinerstein Knight, Rebecca

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $25.73
            • Save $7.26
            • In Stock At Publisher

            `Wise, funny, suspenseful' JONATHAN SAFRAN FOER 'Reads like a botanist's cross-breeding of The Secret History and Department of Speculation' EMMA STRAUB 'Hex is some dark and joyous witchery' LAUREN GROFF Nell Barber, an expelled PhD candidate in Biological Science, is exploring ...the fine line between poison and antidote, working alone to set a speed record for the detoxification of poisonous plants. Her mentor, Dr. Joan Kallas, is the hero of Nell's heart. Nell frequently finds herself standing in the doorway to Joan's office despite herself, mesmerized by Joan's elegance, success, and spiritual force. Surrounded by Nell's ex, her best friend, her best friend's boyfriend, and Joan's buffoonish husband, the two scientists are tangled together at the center of a web of illicit relationships, grudges, and obsessions. All six are burdened by desire and ambition, and as they collide on the university campus, their attractions set in motion a domino effect of affairs and heartbreak. Meanwhile, Nell slowly fills her empty apartment with poisonous plants to study, and she begins to keep a series of notebooks, all dedicated to Joan. She logs her research and how she spends her days, but the notebooks ultimately become a painstaking map of love. In a dazzling and unforgettable voice, Rebecca Dinerstein Knight has written a spellbinding novel of emotional and intellectual intensity.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781526611413
            Released NZ 2 Jul 2020
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Shouting Zeros and Ones: Digital technology, ethics and policy in New Zealand: 2020
              

            Shouting Zeros and Ones: Digital technology, ethics and policy in New Zealand: 2020 (Paperback)

            Edited by Chen, Andrew

            • RRP: $14.99
            • $11.99
            • Save $3.00
            • Pub Date
              10 Aug 20

            New Zealand authors delve into the hidden impacts of technology on society and on individuals: deepfakes and democracy, indigenous data sovereignty, digital inclusion, the environmental impacts of globalised data and the drive to combat online fascism.

            ISBN 9781988587387
            Published NZ 10 Aug 2020
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series BWB Texts
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Subterranea: Discovering the Earth's Extraordinary Hidden Depths
             

            Subterranea: Discovering the Earth's Extraordinary Hidden Depths (Hardback)

            By Fitch, Chris

            • RRP: $60.00
            • $46.80
            • Save $13.20
            • Pub Date
              8 Sep 20

            A lavish, gorgeously-illustrated look at the strange worlds below the surface of our planet

            ISBN 9781472272324
            Released NZ 8 Sep 2020
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Invincible: How we can train our hearts to beat stress and achieve success
             

            Invincible: How we can train our hearts to beat stress and achieve success (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Lagos, Dr Leah

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Pub Date
              11 Aug 20

            A scientifically proven program to alter the body's physical response to stress - working specifically with heart rate - from a preeminent expert in peak performance training.

            ISBN 9781409184386
            Released NZ 11 Aug 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            COVID-19: The Pandemic that Never Should Have Happened, and How to Stop the Next One
             

            COVID-19: The Pandemic that Never Should Have Happened, and How to Stop the Next One (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By MacKenzie, Debora

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Pub Date
              11 Aug 20

            An accessible, authoritative book about the coronavirus pandemic by a leading journalist on the subject

            ISBN 9780349128368
            Released NZ 11 Aug 2020
            Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Who Ate the First Oyster?: The Extraordinary People Behind the Greatest Firsts in History

            Who Ate the First Oyster?: The Extraordinary People Behind the Greatest Firsts in History (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Cassidy, Cody

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The Extraordinary People Behind the Greatest Firsts in History

            ISBN 9781472277237
            Released NZ 7 Jul 2020
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            How to Argue With a Racist: History, Science, Race and Reality

            How to Argue With a Racist: History, Science, Race and Reality (Hardback)

            By Rutherford, Adam

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • To Order

            An illuminating manifesto for a twenty-first century understanding of human evolution and variation by the author of A BRIEF HISTORY OF EVERYONE WHO EVER LIVED

            ISBN 9781474611244
            Released NZ 11 Feb 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Series Tony Hill and Carol Jordan
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            2021 Guide to the Night Sky Southern Hemisphere: A Month-by-Month Guide to Exploring the Skies Above Australia, New Zealand and South Africa
              

            2021 Guide to the Night Sky Southern Hemisphere: A Month-by-Month Guide to Exploring the Skies Above Australia, New Zealand and South Africa (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Dunlop, Storm; Tirion, Wil; Prepared for publication by Astronomy, Collins

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • Pub Date
              2 Sep 20

            A comprehensive handbook to the planets, stars and constellations visible from the southern hemisphere. 6 pages for each month covering January-December 2021.

            ISBN 9780008399795
            Released NZ 2 Sep 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 245K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›