Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Botany & Plant Sciences

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 14.6K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Kew Gardens Girls: An emotional and sweeping historical novel perfect for fans of Kate Morton
             

            The Kew Gardens Girls: An emotional and sweeping historical novel perfect for fans of Kate Morton (Hardback, Unabridged edition)

            By Lovell, Posy; Read by Aldington, Annie

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $38.99
            • Save $11.00
            • Pub Date
              11 Aug 20

            A wartime saga that highlights the role of women at Kew Gardens, licensed publishing with heritage brand Kew Gardens

            ISBN 9781409193272
            Released NZ 11 Aug 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            SuperSimple Biology: The Ultimate Bitesize Study Guide
             

            SuperSimple Biology: The Ultimate Bitesize Study Guide (Paperback)

            By DK; Contributions by Institution, Smithsonian

            • RRP: $30.00
            • $22.50
            • Save $7.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            From reproduction to respiration and enzymes to ecosystems, this guide makes complex topics easy to grasp at a glance. Perfect support for coursework, homework, and exam revision. Each topic is fully illustrated to support the information, make the facts crystal clear, and bring ...the science to life. For key ideas, How it Works and Look Closer boxes explain the theory with the help of simple graphics. And for revision, a handy Key Facts box provides a simple summary you can check back on later. With clear, concise coverage of all the core biology topics, Super Simple Biology is the perfect accessible guide to biology for children, supporting classwork, and making studying for exams the easiest it's ever been.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241390467
            Released NZ 19 May 2020
            Publisher Dorling Kindersley Publishers
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Series SuperSimple
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Hex

            Hex (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Dinerstein Knight, Rebecca

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $25.73
            • Save $7.26
            • In Stock At Publisher

            `Wise, funny, suspenseful' JONATHAN SAFRAN FOER 'Reads like a botanist's cross-breeding of The Secret History and Department of Speculation' EMMA STRAUB 'Hex is some dark and joyous witchery' LAUREN GROFF Nell Barber, an expelled PhD candidate in Biological Science, is exploring ...the fine line between poison and antidote, working alone to set a speed record for the detoxification of poisonous plants. Her mentor, Dr. Joan Kallas, is the hero of Nell's heart. Nell frequently finds herself standing in the doorway to Joan's office despite herself, mesmerized by Joan's elegance, success, and spiritual force. Surrounded by Nell's ex, her best friend, her best friend's boyfriend, and Joan's buffoonish husband, the two scientists are tangled together at the center of a web of illicit relationships, grudges, and obsessions. All six are burdened by desire and ambition, and as they collide on the university campus, their attractions set in motion a domino effect of affairs and heartbreak. Meanwhile, Nell slowly fills her empty apartment with poisonous plants to study, and she begins to keep a series of notebooks, all dedicated to Joan. She logs her research and how she spends her days, but the notebooks ultimately become a painstaking map of love. In a dazzling and unforgettable voice, Rebecca Dinerstein Knight has written a spellbinding novel of emotional and intellectual intensity.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781526611413
            Released NZ 2 Jul 2020
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            RHS The Rose: The history of the world's favourite flower in 40 roses

            RHS The Rose: The history of the world's favourite flower in 40 roses (Hardback)

            By Elliott, Brent

            • RRP: $55.00
            • $44.00
            • Save $11.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Extraordinary botanical illustrations and extracts from classic texts held in the Royal Horticultural society's world-famous Lindley Library, such as Redoute's Les Roses, Henry Andrew's Roses, Mary Lawrence's Selection of Roses and Victor Paquet's Choix des Plus Belles Roses, com...plete this authoritative celebration.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781787394087
            Released NZ 2 Jun 2020
            Publisher Welbeck Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Multifarious Mr. Banks: From Botany Bay to Kew, The Natural Historian Who Shaped the World
             

            The Multifarious Mr. Banks: From Botany Bay to Kew, The Natural Historian Who Shaped the World (Hardback)

            By Musgrave, Toby

            • RRP: $83.99
            • $74.72
            • Save $9.27
            • No availability locally

            A fascinating life of Sir Joseph Banks which restores him to his proper place in history as a leading scientific figure of the English Enlightenment

            ISBN 9780300223835
            Released NZ 15 May 2020
            Publisher Yale University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
            View details for this title
            Planting the World: Joseph Banks and His Collectors: an Adventurous History of Botany
             

            Planting the World: Joseph Banks and His Collectors: an Adventurous History of Botany (Hardback)

            By Goodman, Jordan

            • RRP: $64.99
            • $48.74
            • Save $16.25
            • Pub Date
              2 Sep 20

            A global history of botany and plant collecting in 18th century based on original research in many languages.

            ISBN 9780007578832
            Released NZ 2 Sep 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Plants for the People: A Modern Guide to Plant Medicine

            Plants for the People: A Modern Guide to Plant Medicine (Hardback)

            By Lovell Verinder, Erin

            • RRP: $45.00
            • $40.50
            • Save $4.50
            • To Order

            A generously illustrated introduction to the healing and wellness powers to be found in plants.

            ISBN 9781760760465
            Published NZ 1 Mar 2020
            Publisher Thames and Hudson (Australia)
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Trees, Leaves, Flowers & Seeds: A visual encyclopedia of the plant kingdom

            Trees, Leaves, Flowers & Seeds: A visual encyclopedia of the plant kingdom (Hardback)

            By DK; Contributions by Institution, Smithsonian

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $27.75
            • Save $9.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A unique and beautiful children's guide to the extraordinary world of plants, from the smallest seeds to the tallest trees. We couldn't live without plants. We need them for food, shelter, even the air we breathe, yet we know surprisingly little about them. Why do thistles bristl...e with spines? How do some plants trap and eat insects? Did you know there are trees more than 5,000 years old? Trees, Leaves, Flowers & Seeds explores the mysterious world of plants to find the answers to these and many more questions. Each type of plant - such as a flowering plant, a tree, a grass, or cactus - is examined close-up, with an example shown from all angles and even in cross-section. Then picture-packed galleries show the wonderful variety of plants on different themes, perhaps the habitat they grow in, a flower family, or the plants that supply us with our staple foods. But the book also takes a fun, more sideways look at some truly weird and wonderful plants, including trees with fruits like a giant's fingers, orchids that look like monkey faces, seeds that spin like helicopters, and trees that drip poison. So open this fascinating book and find out more about the amazing world of trees, leaves, flowers, and seeds.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241339923
            Released NZ 3 Sep 2019
            Publisher Dorling Kindersley Publishers
            Interest Age 9-11 years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds and Shape Our Futures
             

            Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds and Shape Our Futures (Hardback)

            By Sheldrake, Merlin

            • RRP: $48.00
            • $37.44
            • Save $10.56
            • Pub Date
              3 Sep 20

            There is a life form on our planet so strange and wondrous that it challenges our conception of life itself...Entangled Life introduces an almost wholly unknown and mysterious category of life form, an entire underground realm whose workings are so wondrous and alien that they th...row into question what we think life itself is and how it works.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781847925190
            Released NZ 3 Sep 2020
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Cannabis

            Cannabis (Hardback)

            By Duvall, Chris

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $39.99
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In Cannabis Chris Duvall explores the cultural history and geography of humanity's most widely distributed crop, which supplies both hemp and marijuana.

            ISBN 9781780233413
            Released NZ 1 Mar 2015
            Publisher Reaktion Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Botanical
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Total 14.6K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›