Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -
            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 3.11K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Cleo and Rob
             

            Cleo and Rob (Hardback)

            By Brown, Helen; Illustrated by Morris, Phoebe

            • RRP: $29.99
            • $22.49
            • Save $7.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A kitten called Cleo steps into six-year-old Rob's life after his big brother, Sam, dies. With Cleo's help, Rob discovers that, even through the toughest times, healing can happen. Based on true events in author Helen Brown's family, this heartwarming story first appeared as the ...book for adults, Cleo.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781988547350
            Published NZ 1 Oct 2019
            Publisher Allen & Unwin
            Interest Age 2-6 years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            See Ya, Simon
               

            See Ya, Simon (Paperback, Reprint)

            By Hill, David

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $18.00
            • Save $1.99
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Simon likes girls, weekends and enjoys mucking about and playing practical jokes, but what's different is that Simon has muscular dystrophy - he's in a wheelchair and doesn't have long to live. See Ya Simon is told by Simon's best friend,

            ISBN 9780143318026
            Published NZ 6 Aug 2002
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Long Way Down
             

            Long Way Down (Hardback, Main)

            By Reynolds, Jason

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $5.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Everybody ran, ducked, hid, tucked themselves tight. Pressed our lips to the pavement and prayed the boom, followed by the buzz of a bullet, didn't meet us. After Will's brother is shot in a gang crime, he knows the next steps. Don't cry. Don't snitch. Get revenge. So he gets in ...the lift with Shawn's gun, determined to follow The Rules.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780571335114
            Released NZ 24 Jan 2018
            Publisher Faber and Faber
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            The Crossover: Graphic Novel
             

            The Crossover: Graphic Novel (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Alexander, Kwame; Illustrated by Anyabwile, Dawud

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $15.99
            • Save $4.00
            • Pub Date
              1 Apr 20

            Kwame Alexander's New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal-winning The Crossover is vividly brought to life as a graphic novel

            ISBN 9781783449590
            Released NZ 1 Apr 2020
            Publisher Andersen Press Ltd
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Crossover
             

            Crossover (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Alexander, Kwame

            • RRP: $19.50
            • $18.52
            • Save $0.98
            • In Stock US

            In this middle grade novel in verse that's Love That Dog meets The Watsons Go to Birmingham meets Slam, twelve-year-old twin basketball starsJosh and Jordan wrestle with highs and lows on and off the court as their father ignores his declining health.

            ISBN 9780544935204
            Released NZ 5 Mar 2019
            Publisher Houghton Mifflin
            Interest Age Children
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Dear Vincent
              

            Dear Vincent (Paperback)

            By Hager, Mandy

            • RRP: $19.99
            • $14.99
            • Save $5.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Powerful YA fiction about a teenager coming to terms with the suicide of her sister. Tara, the main character, is a blossoming painter who loves the work of Vincent Van Gogh, and his story is used as a counterpoint to her own. It is also a novel about the power of love, and how t...he acquisition of inner peace requires forgiveness of ourselves and others. 17 year old Tara McClusky's life is hard. She shares the care of her paralysed father with her domineering, difficult mother, forced to cut down on her hours at school to help support the family with a part-time rest home job. She's very much alone, still grieving the loss of her older sister Van, who died five years before. Her only source of consolation is her obsession with art and painting in particular. Most especially she is enamoured with Vincent Van Gogh: has read all his letters and finds many parallels between the tragic story of his life and her own. Luckily she meets the intelligent, kindly Professor Max Stockhamer (Jewish refugee and philosopher) and his grandson Johannes, and their support is crucial to her ability to survive this turbulent time.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775533276
            Published NZ 7 Jun 2013
            Publisher Random House
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Coming Back
              

            Coming Back (Paperback)

            By Hill, David

            • RRP: $22.00
            • $16.50
            • Save $5.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Tara is heading home, Ryan is driving his mates, neither is paying attention on a dirty wet night. The tragedy that results changes many lives. Finalist NZ Post Book Awards 2005. White Ravens 2005.

            ISBN 9780143305910
            Published NZ 7 Jul 2010
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Rebound
             

            Rebound (Paperback)

            By Alexander, Kwame; Illustrated by Anyabwile, Dawud

            • RRP: $25.99
            • $22.09
            • Save $3.90
            • Internationally sourced

            From the New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander comes a stunning coming-of-age novel in verse about basketball, family and staying true to yourself. A prequel to The Crossover, winner of the Newbery Medal, and follow-up to Booked, highly commended for the CLiPPA prize ...and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781783447206
            Released NZ 16 Jul 2018
            Publisher Andersen Press Ltd
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Cleo and Rob
             

            Cleo and Rob (Paperback)

            By Brown, Helen; Illustrated by Morris, Phoebe

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $17.24
            • Save $5.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            "Sometimes hope has four paws, golden eyes and soft black fur. A kitten called Cleo steps into six-year-old Rob's life after his big brother Sam dies. Based on true events in author Helen Brown's family"-- Back cover.

            ISBN 9781988547190
            Published NZ 1 Oct 2019
            Publisher Allen & Unwin
            Interest Age 2-6 years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Beginners Welcome

            Beginners Welcome (Hardback)

            By Baldwin, Cindy

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • To Order

            The acclaimed author of Where the Watermelons Grow is back with a story perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Ali Benjamin, about finding friendship after a tragic loss. It's been eighty-three days since Annie Lee's daddy died, but she still sees reminders of him everywhere.... His record player mysteriously plays his favorite songs, there's shaving cream in the sink every morning, and the TV keeps flipping to the Duke basketball games he loved. She knows Mama notices it too, but Mama's been working around the clock to make ends meet. To make matters worse, Annie Lee's friends ditched her over the summer. She feels completely alone--until she meets Mitch. Though Mitch is tough and confident on the outside, she may need a friend just as badly as Annie Lee. But after losing so much, Annie Lee is afraid to let anyone get too close. And Mitch isn't the only friend trying to break through Annie Lee's defenses. Ray, an elderly pianist who plays at a local mall, has been giving her piano lessons. His music is pure magic, and Annie Lee hopes it might be the key to healing her broken heart. But when Ray goes missing, searching for him means breaking a promise to Mitch. Faced with once again losing those who mean the most to her, Annie Lee must make a choice: retreat back into her shell, or risk admitting how much she needs Mitch and Ray--even if it means getting hurt all over again. Just like in her debut, Where the Watermelons Grow, Cindy Baldwin brings her signature twist of magic to this authentically heartfelt story.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780062665898
            Released NZ 11 Feb 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age 8-12 years
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
            View details for this title
            Total 3.11K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›