Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Social Sciences

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 1.15M jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            White Lies
              

            White Lies (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Ihimaera, Witi

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $28.86
            • Save $8.14
            • In Stock At Supplier

            From the author of The Whale Rider, an intriguing novella about the nature of identity, together with its screenplay and many extras. A medicine woman a giver of life is asked to hide a secret that may protect a position in society, but could have fatal consequences. She is the h...ealer and midwife of her rural tribe, but new laws are in force prohibiting unlicensed healers. When she is approached by the servant of a wealthy woman, who seeks her assistance, three very different women become players in a head-on clash of beliefs, deception and ultimate salvation. Newly rewritten, this novella, along with its screenplay and notes by the author, producer and director, as well as stills from the accompanying film, offers a rich and intriguing package.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775533061
            Published NZ 7 Jun 2013
            Publisher Random House
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            90 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Invisible
             

            The Invisible (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Papathanasiou, Peter

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • Pub Date
              30 Aug 22

            By the author of THE STONING ( Crime debut of the year The Times) - a fresh and distinctive new voice in Outback Noir

            ISBN 9781529424430
            Released NZ 30 Aug 2022
            Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            999 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Escape Artist: The Man Who Broke Out of Auschwitz to Warn the World

            The Escape Artist: The Man Who Broke Out of Auschwitz to Warn the World (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Freedland, Jonathan

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $31.15
            • Save $6.84
            • In Stock At Supplier

            The astonishing, forgotten story of the hero who escaped from Auschwitz to reveal the truth of the Holocaust.

            ISBN 9781529369052
            Released NZ 14 Jun 2022
            Publisher John Murray Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            844 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Teenage Girl's Guide to Living Well with ADHD: Improve your Self-Esteem, Self-Care and Self Knowledge
             

            The Teenage Girl's Guide to Living Well with ADHD: Improve your Self-Esteem, Self-Care and Self Knowledge (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Illustrated edition)

            By Ali, Sonia

            • RRP: $41.50
            • $39.42
            • Save $2.08
            • In Stock At Supplier

            The go-to guide for teenage girls with ADHD, helping them to understand their strengths

            ISBN 9781787757684
            Released NZ 20 Apr 2022
            Publisher Jessica Kingsley Publishers
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Availability
            219 In stock at supplier; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Fono: The Contest for the Governance of Samoa
               

            Fono: The Contest for the Governance of Samoa (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Swain, Peter

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $38.00
            • Save $2.00
            • Pub Date
              8 Sep 22

            Fono: The Contest for the Governance of Samoa tells the story of the development of Samoa's unique system of governance, and of those who have fought for power and shaped the development of the Independent State of Samoa, from first settlement through German colonisation and New ...Zealand's administration, to indigenous governance, including the hard-fought 2021 General Election and its dramatic outcome. 'This book, based on a wide range of historical sources and original research, provides us with fresh insights into the history of Samoa and the struggles our leaders and people went through in their search for the ideal form of governance for Samoans to live their own way of life. Fono is essential reading for all Samoans, and for all those interested in the good governance of small island states.' -Tuila'epa Dr Sa'ilele Malielegaoi 'Fono constitutes a very valuable and critical perspective. Important because of providing a critical record on an important episode in Samoan and Pacific History, plus the pivotal role and frontline credential of the writer. The book's appeal lies in the immediacy of events and the way the electoral processes evolved without external interference and in the increasing role of the diaspora.' - Dr Atoese Morgan Tuimalealiifano, Associate Professor of History, University of the South Pacific
            Read more

            ISBN 9781776920655
            Published NZ 8 Sep 2022
            Publisher Te Herenga Waka University Pre
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (English and Samoan)
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Never Work with Animals
              

            Never Work with Animals (Hardback)

            By Steel, Gareth

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Pub Date
              27 Oct 22

            Gareth Steel wants you to understand vets in a way you never could have before.

            ISBN 9780008466589
            Released NZ 27 Oct 2022
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Best of e-Tangata, Volume 2
              

            The Best of e-Tangata, Volume 2 (Paperback)

            Edited by Misa, Tapu; Wilson, Gary

            • RRP: $14.99
            • $11.99
            • Save $3.00
            • Pub Date
              10 Oct 22

            Editors Tapu Misa and Gary Wilson bring together a second selection of the best of celebrated digital magazine e-Tangata, home to some of the most incisive and profound commentary on life in New Zealand.

            ISBN 9781988587639
            Published NZ 10 Oct 2022
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series BWB Texts
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Once Were Warriors
             

            Once Were Warriors (Paperback, reissue - new cover)

            By Duff, Alan

            • RRP: $30.00
            • $23.40
            • Save $6.60
            • In Stock At Supplier

            A New Zealand classic, this novel is a raw and powerful portrayal of Maori in New Zealand society. Alan Duff's groundbreaking first novel is one of the most talked-about books ever published in New Zealand and is now the basis of a major New Zealand film. This hard hitting story ...is a frank and uncompromising portrait in which everyone is a victim, until the strength and vision of one woman transcends brutality and leads the way to a new life.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775532859
            Published NZ 7 Dec 2012
            Publisher Random House
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            130 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Royal Station Master's Daughters: A heartwarming World War I saga of family, secrets and royalty (The Royal Station Master's Daughters Series book 1)

            The Royal Station Master's Daughters: A heartwarming World War I saga of family, secrets and royalty (The Royal Station Master's Daughters Series book 1) (Paperback)

            By Seymour, Ellee

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $18.85
            • Save $4.14
            • To Order

            A heartwarming and dramatic World War I saga of secrets, love and the British royal family for readers of Daisy Styles and Maisie Thomas. With members of the royal family and their guests passing through the station on their way to Sandringham, the Saward family have a unique pos...ition within their small community.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781838774578
            Released NZ 5 Jul 2022
            Publisher Zaffre
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            Dying To Know
              

            Dying To Know (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Dobson, Liz

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • Pub Date
              1 Feb 23

            A practical book of advice on dealing with wills, grief, care and losing a loved one in Aotearoa New Zealand. A book demystifying the aging process, explored through the author's first-hand experiences of a mother with Alzheimer's, and featuring other Kiwis' experiences of naviga...ting decline. Just as people have a birth plan, it's important to have an end-of-life plan while you or your loved ones are fit and healthy, so you can all get on with living your best life. Having a plan in place can even mean you're likely to live longer, because you don't have to worry, be fearful, or have any regrets. Dying to Know is about protecting your family, celebrating life and having tender conversations.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775542063
            Published NZ 1 Feb 2023
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 1.15M jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›