Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Politics & Government

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 312K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize

            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize (Paperback)

            By Harris, Nathan

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $20.49
            • Save $4.50
            • To Order

            A powerful American debut set during the Civil War and portraying life after slavery in the vein of WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

            ISBN 9781472274410
            Released NZ 29 Mar 2022
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            Democracy in Aotearoa New Zealand: A Survival Guide
               

            Democracy in Aotearoa New Zealand: A Survival Guide (Paperback)

            By Palmer, Geoffrey; Palmer- Steeds, Gwen

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $38.00
            • Save $2.00
            • Pub Date
              9 Jun 22

            A survival guide to democracy in Aotearoa New Zealand, this book aims to unravel the mysteries of our political system and show how ordinary people can navigate the political world and influence decisions made by our government. Its 40 chapters include a succinct history of gover...nment in Aotearoa New Zealand; introductions to our principal institutions; interviews with the Prime Minister, Leader of the Opposition, Governor-General, Speaker and Chief Justice; advice on how to campaign, complain and obtain information; and consideration of future challenges of climate change, decolonisation, and engaging rangatahi in the political process.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781776920167
            Published NZ 9 Jun 2022
            Publisher Te Herenga Waka University Pre
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            980 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Betrayal of Anne Frank: A Cold Case Investigation

            The Betrayal of Anne Frank: A Cold Case Investigation (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Sullivan, Rosemary

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $28.00
            • Save $7.00
            • Temporarily out of stock

            Using new technology, recently discovered documents and sophisticated investigative techniques, an international team-led by an obsessed retired FBI agent-has finally solved the mystery that has haunted generations since World War II: Who betrayed Anne Frank and her family? And w...hy? Over thirty million people have read The Diary of a Young Girl, the journal teen-aged Anne Frank kept while living in an attic with her family and four other people in Amsterdam during World War II, until the Nazis arrested them and sent them to a concentration camp. But despite the many works-journalism, books, plays and novels-devoted to Anne's story, none has ever conclusively explained how these eight people managed to live in hiding undetected for over two years-and who or what finally brought the Nazis to their door. With painstaking care, retired FBI agent Vincent Pankoke and a team of indefatigable investigators pored over tens of thousands of pages of documents-some never before seen-and interviewed scores of descendants of people familiar with the Franks. Utilizing methods developed by the FBI, the Cold Case Team painstakingly pieced together the months leading to the infamous arrest-and came to a shocking conclusion. The Betrayal of Anne Frank: A Cold Case Investigation is the riveting story of their mission. Rosemary Sullivan introduces us to the investigators, explains the behavior of both the captives and their captors and profiles a group of suspects. All the while, she vividly brings to life wartime Amsterdam: a place where no matter how wealthy, educated, or careful you were, you never knew whom you could trust.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781460758021
            Published NZ 2 Feb 2022
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            Comrade: Bill Andersen: A Communist, Working-Class Life
              

            Comrade: Bill Andersen: A Communist, Working-Class Life (Paperback)

            By Locke, Cybele

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $39.99
            • Save $10.00
            • Pub Date
              14 Nov 22

            As a history centred on biography, Comrade: Bill Andersen: A Communist, Working-Class Life tells a riveting story of labour activism and social change. Historian Cybele Locke recovers the relationships between communism and working class trade unionism during World War Two and th...e following decades.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781988587899
            Published NZ 14 Nov 2022
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi
              

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi (Paperback)

            By Calman, Ross; Derby, Mark; Translated by Walker, Piripi; Illustrated by Morris, Toby

            • RRP: $20.00
            • $19.00
            • Save $1.00
            • In Stock At Supplier

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi is a reorua (bilingual) graphic novel that takes a fresh and innovative look at our founding treaty. The book reflects current scholarship and has been reviewed by some of Aotearoa's foremost Te Tiriti o Waitangi experts.

            ISBN 9780473470654
            Published NZ 13 Jun 2019
            Publisher Lift Education
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (Te Reo Maori and English)
            Availability
            999 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Indigenous Women's Voices: 20 Years on from Linda Tuhiwai Smith's Decolonizing Methodologies
              

            Indigenous Women's Voices: 20 Years on from Linda Tuhiwai Smith's Decolonizing Methodologies (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            Edited by Lee, Emma; Evans, Jen; Foreword by Smith, Linda Tuhiwai

            • RRP: $43.99
            • $43.99
            • To Order

            Indigenous essays in honour of Linda Tuhiwai Smith celebrate the positive, shifting ground of how Indigenous writers are shaping the post-colonial research world

            ISBN 9781786998422
            Released NZ 24 Mar 2022
            Publisher BLOOMSBURY ACADEMIC
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Embroidered Book

            The Embroidered Book (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Heartfield, Kate

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $28.00
            • Save $7.00
            • In Stock At Supplier

            A sweeping historical epic with a thread of magic, perfect for readers of THE FAMILIARS, THE BINDING, and THE MINIATURIST.

            ISBN 9780008380601
            Released NZ 2 Mar 2022
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            77 In stock at supplier; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Te Ata o Tu: The Shadow of Tumatauenga
               

            Te Ata o Tu: The Shadow of Tumatauenga (Hardback)

            By Rice, Rebecca; Baker, Matiu; Cooper, Katie; FitzGerald, Michael

            • RRP: $70.00
            • $66.50
            • Save $3.50
            • Pub Date
              31 Dec 22

            The New Zealand Wars of 1845-72 were a series of bitter and bloody conflicts between Maori and Pakeha that extended from Wairau to the Bay of Islands, and from Taranaki to the East Cape. This major book visits Te Papa's rich Matauranga Maori, History and Art collections to expl...ore the material and visual culture, taonga and artefacts connected with key events and players associated with the Wars.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780994146083
            Published NZ 31 Dec 2022
            Publisher Te Papa Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Freezing Order: A True Story of Russian Money Laundering, Murder,and Surviving Vladimir Putin's Wrath

            Freezing Order: A True Story of Russian Money Laundering, Murder,and Surviving Vladimir Putin's Wrath (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Export / Airside)

            By Browder, Bill

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $31.15
            • Save $6.84
            • Temporarily out of stock

            A true-life thriller, as Putin's most-feared adversary risks it all to hunt down the source of the Russian president's vast wealth

            ISBN 9781398506084
            Released NZ 1 May 2022
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Title is temporarily out of stock
            View details for this title
            Mala's Cat: The moving and unforgettable true story of one girl's survival during the Holocaust

            Mala's Cat: The moving and unforgettable true story of one girl's survival during the Holocaust (Hardback)

            By Kacenberg, Mala

            • RRP: $38.00
            • $30.40
            • Save $7.60
            • In Stock At Supplier

            Growing up in the Polish village of Tarnogrod on the fringes of a deep pine forest, gives Mala the happiest childhood she could have hoped for. But, as the German invasion begins, her beloved village becomes a ghetto and her family and friends reduced to starvation. She takes mat...ters into her own hands, and bravely removes her yellow star, risking sneaking out to the surrounding villages to barter for food. It is on her way back that she sees her loved ones rounded up for deportation, and receives a smuggled letter from her sister warning her to stay away. With only her cat, Malach, and the strength of the stories taught by her family, she walks away from everything she holds dear. Malach becomes her family, her only respite from painful loneliness, a guide and reminder to stay hopeful even when faced with unfathomable darkness. With her guardian angel by her side, Mala finds a way to navigate the dangerous forests, outwit German soldiers and hostile villagers, and survive, against all odds.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241503652
            Released NZ 18 Jan 2022
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 312K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›