Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Politics & Government

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 302K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            National Identity: Confessions of an outsider
             

            National Identity: Confessions of an outsider (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Bridges, Simon

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $28.49
            • Save $9.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            An open, honest and at times intensely personal memoir about race, fatherhood, marriage, masculinity, fitting in, and the things that shape our national character. Simon Bridges grew up as the son of a working-class Baptist preacher in Te Atatu, as the youngest of six children. I...n many ways he had a typical Kiwi upbringing, at a time when having little didn't seem to matter much. Yet for Bridges, his was the life of an outsider: experiencing otherness for being Maori, and yet an otherness from other Maori; a Westie with a thick accent, trying to break into the upper reaches of society; distanced from his father, an ageing man in his own world. As a young politician, Bridges soon came to realise he was an introvert in an extrovert's world, and a male leader who has never identified with New Zealand's idealised version of the strong, laconic, rugby-loving man. In National Identity, Bridges offers an attempt to question himself and the country he loves. Politics, crime, kai, music, nature: these are the stuff of a life. Through candid and self-aware reflections, he points out that politicians have become less robust, and that people don't participate as much anymore - eroding our institutions and national life. He speaks his mind on an education system in crisis, the decline of Christianity, and how being the smallest, most isolated developed country in the world explains why we are how we are. Authentic, brilliant, humorous and poignant, National Identity is a must-read New Zealand memoir.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775541967
            Published NZ 1 Sep 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples
             

            Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples (Trade Paperback / Paperback, 3rd edition)

            By Smith, Linda Tuhiwai

            • RRP: $43.99
            • $43.99
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Linda Tuhiwai Smith's landmark work on decolonial and indigenous research, thoroughly revised and updated.

            ISBN 9781786998132
            Released NZ 2 Jul 2021
            Publisher BLOOMSBURY ACADEMIC
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            288 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Mana Whakatipu: Ngai Tahu leader Mark Solomon on leadership and life
             

            Mana Whakatipu: Ngai Tahu leader Mark Solomon on leadership and life (Hardback)

            By Solomon, Mark; With Revington, Mark

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $29.75
            • Save $5.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In 1998, just as South Island iwi Ngai Tahu was about to sign its Treaty of Waitangi settlement with the government - justice of sorts after seven generations of seeking redress - a former foundryman stepped into the pivotal role of kaiwhakahaere or chair of Te Runanga o Ngai T...ahu - the tribal council of Ngai Tahu. Mark Solomon stood at the head of his iwi at a critical moment and can be credited with the astute stewardship of the settlement that has today made Ngai Tahu a major player in the economy and given it long sought-after self determination. Bold, energetic and visionary, for 18 years Solomon forged a courageous and determined course. Now, in this direct memoir, Ta Mark reflects on his life, on the people who influenced him, on what it means to lead, and the future for both Ngai Tahu and Aotearoa New Zealand.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780995135437
            Published NZ 12 Aug 2021
            Publisher Massey University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Voices from the New Zealand Wars | He Reo no nga Pakanga o Aotearoa
              

            Voices from the New Zealand Wars | He Reo no nga Pakanga o Aotearoa (Paperback)

            By O'Malley, Vincent

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $39.99
            • Save $10.00
            • Pub Date
              15 Nov 21

            Evoking emotions from the most turbulent time in our country's history, this book takes us to the heart of the New Zealand Wars with a series of first-hand accounts from Maori and Pakeha who either fought in or witnessed the conflicts that ravaged New Zealand between 1845 and 187...2.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781988587790
            Published NZ 15 Nov 2021
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize

            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Harris, Nathan

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A powerful novel of life after slavery in the vein of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

            ISBN 9781472274380
            Released NZ 13 Jul 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            130 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Labour Saving: A Memoir
             

            Labour Saving: A Memoir (Hardback)

            By Cullen, Michael

            • RRP: $49.99
            • $37.49
            • Save $12.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A fascinating and in-depth insight into the extraordinary career of one of our most important politicians, who was instrumental in shaping the development of Aotearoa New Zealand.

            ISBN 9781988547855
            Published NZ 1 Jun 2021
            Publisher Allen & Unwin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            975 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Activism Feminism Politics And Parliament
             

            Activism Feminism Politics And Parliament (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            Other primary creator Margaret, Wilson

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A policy-focused campaigner, reluctant to join a political tribe and uncomfortable with the combative attitudes and personal jockeying that politics seemed to entail, this is the story of one of New Zealand's most eminent political actors.

            ISBN 9781988587844
            Published NZ 12 Jul 2021
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi
              

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi (Paperback)

            By Calman, Ross; Derby, Mark; Translated by Walker, Piripi; Illustrated by Morris, Toby

            Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi is a reorua (bilingual) graphic novel that takes a fresh and innovative look at our founding treaty. The book reflects current scholarship and has been reviewed by some of Aotearoa's foremost Te Tiriti o Waitangi experts.

            ISBN 9780473470654
            Published NZ 13 Jun 2019
            Publisher Lift Education
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (Te Reo Maori and English)
            Availability
            999 Availability and pricing is uncertain (no recent updates from publisher)
            View details for this title
            Too Much Money: How Wealth Disparities Are Unbalancing Aotearoa New Zealand
              

            Too Much Money: How Wealth Disparities Are Unbalancing Aotearoa New Zealand (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Rashbrooke, Max

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • Pub Date
              15 Nov 21

            'Presently, someone in the wealthiest 1 per cent of adults - now a roughly 40,000-strong club - has a net worth 68 times that of the average New Zealander.' Too Much Money is the story of how wealth inequality is changing Aotearoa New Zealand.

            ISBN 9781988587943
            Published NZ 15 Nov 2021
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Forgotten
             

            The Forgotten (Hardback)

            By Chamberlain, Mary

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $24.74
            • Save $8.25
            • Pub Date
              2 Nov 21

            How do you rebuild a life from the ashes of despair?

            ISBN 9781786079077
            Released NZ 2 Nov 2021
            Publisher Oneworld Publications
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Total 302K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›