Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -
            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 4.19K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Slavery's Ghost: The Problem of Freedom in the Age of Emancipation
              

            Slavery's Ghost: The Problem of Freedom in the Age of Emancipation (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Johnson, Walter; Foner, Eric; Follett, Richard

            Explores the dire, debilitating, sometimes crushing effects of slavery on race relations in American history. This title asks important questions: How did slaves and freedpeople respond to the promise and reality of emancipation? How committed were white southerners to the princi...ple of racial subjugation? And more.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781421402369
            Publisher FOOTPRINT BOOKS
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Series The Marcus Cunliffe Lecture Series
            Availability
            Internationally sourced on backorder; allow 4-8 weeks
            View details for this title
            The Winner's Kiss
             

            The Winner's Kiss (Paperback)

            By Rutkoski, Marie

            • RRP: $17.99
            • $14.03
            • Save $3.96
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The last book in the breathtaking Winner's Trilogy is an irresistible story of forbidden romance and class warfare

            ISBN 9781408858745
            Released NZ 23 Mar 2016
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age Children / Young Adults
            Series The Winner's Trilogy
            Availability
            19 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize

            The Sweetness of Water: Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Harris, Nathan

            • RRP: $34.99
            • $27.29
            • Save $7.70
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A powerful novel of life after slavery in the vein of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

            ISBN 9781472274380
            Released NZ 13 Jul 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            359 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Wake: The Hidden History of Women-Led Slave Revolts

            Wake: The Hidden History of Women-Led Slave Revolts (Hardback)

            By Hall, Rebecca; Illustrated by Martinez, Hugo

            • RRP: $50.00
            • $37.50
            • Save $12.50
            • In Stock At Publisher

            For as far back as she can remember, historian and activist Rebecca Hall has been looking for tales of women warriors in the history of American slave resistance. The problem, she found, is that almost everywhere she looked - in the archives, in the history books - there was a bl...ank space. All the Black women who had fought and rebelled had been obscured, ignored, and blotted out. This is their story, and the story of uncovering their struggle. Strikingly illustrated by Hugo Martinez, Wake combines forensic historiography with powerful imaginative reconstruction to explore the humanity of the enslaved, the reality of their lives, and the complexity of a history that has been hidden.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241523551
            Released NZ 14 Sep 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            35 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Radical Potter: Josiah Wedgwood and the Transformation of Britain
             

            The Radical Potter: Josiah Wedgwood and the Transformation of Britain (Hardback)

            By Hunt, Tristram

            • RRP: $65.00
            • $60.71
            • Save $4.29
            • Internationally sourced

            Josiah Wedgwood, perhaps the greatest English potter who ever lived, epitomised the best of his age. From his kilns and workshops in Stoke-on-Trent, he revolutionised the production of ceramics in Georgian Britain by marrying technology and design, manufacturing efficiency and re...tail flair. He transformed the luxury markets not only of London, Liverpool, Bath and Dublin but of America and the world, and helping to usher in a mass consumer society. Tristram Hunt calls him 'the Steve Jobs of the eighteenth century.' But Wedgwood was radical in his mind and politics as well as in his designs. He campaigned for free trade and religious toleration, read pioneering papers to the Royal Society and was a member of the celebrated Lunar Society of Birmingham. Most significantly, he created the ceramic 'Emancipation Badge', depicting a slave in chains and inscribed 'Am I Not a Man and a Brother?' that became the symbol of the abolitionist movement. Tristram Hunt's hugely enjoyable new biography, strongly based on Wedgwood's notebooks, letters and words of his contemporaries, brilliantly captures the energy and originality of Wedgwood and his extraordinary contribution to the transformation of eighteenth-century Britain.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241287897
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Life of Josiah Henson: An Inspiration for Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom
             

            The Life of Josiah Henson: An Inspiration for Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Henson, Josiah

            • RRP: $8.99
            • $6.79
            • Save $2.20
            • In Stock US

            This remarkable slave narrative first appeared in Boston in 1849. Josiah Henson's tale of his daring escape ultimately inspired the character of George Harris, a fugitive slave in Uncle Tom's Cabin.

            ISBN 9780486800455
            Publisher Dover Publications Inc.
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Thrift Editions
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Trader, The Owner, The Slave: Parallel Lives in the Age of Slavery

            The Trader, The Owner, The Slave: Parallel Lives in the Age of Slavery (Paperback, illustrated edition)

            By Walvin, Professor James

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $25.73
            • Save $7.26
            • To Order

            Examining the lives of three individuals caught up in the enterprise of human enslavement - a trader, an owner and a slave, this book offers an interpretation of the barbaric world of slavery and of its historic end in April 1807.

            ISBN 9780712667630
            Released NZ 15 Feb 2008
            Publisher Vintage
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            Fallen Idols: Twelve Statues That Made History

            Fallen Idols: Twelve Statues That Made History (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Von Tunzelmann, Alex

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A hugely entertaining and informative narrative on one of the key arguments raging across the globe - how does one honestly celebrate a country's past without knocking down celebrated heroes.

            ISBN 9781472281883
            Released NZ 13 Jul 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            49 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            White Debt: The Demerara Uprising and Britain's Legacy of Slavery
             

            White Debt: The Demerara Uprising and Britain's Legacy of Slavery (Hardback)

            By Harding, Thomas

            • RRP: $60.00
            • $46.80
            • Save $13.20
            • Pub Date
              12 Apr 22

            The story of the slave rebellion that took place in the British colony of Demerara in the West Indies in 1823 - and its consequences today, from the prize-winning author Thomas Harding

            ISBN 9781474621045
            Released NZ 12 Apr 2022
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Abandoned Women: Scottish convicts exiled beyond the seas
             

            Abandoned Women: Scottish convicts exiled beyond the seas (Paperback)

            By Frost, Lucy

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $18.74
            • Save $6.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            From the crowded tenements of Edinburgh to the Female Factory nestling in the shadow of Mt Wellington, dozens of Scottish women convicts were exiled to Van Diemen's Land with their young children. This is a rich and evocative account of the lives of women at the bottom of society... two hundred years ago.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781760290269
            Published NZ 24 Jun 2015
            Publisher Allen & Unwin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            200 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 4.19K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›