Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Child & Developmental Psychology

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 11.0K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The List: 'A terrifyingly twisted and devious story' to chill you this winter

            The List: 'A terrifyingly twisted and devious story' to chill you this winter (Paperback)

            By Jones, Carys

            • RRP: $27.99
            • $21.83
            • Save $6.16
            • To Order

            Five names on a list. The first two are dead. The third one is yours...A rip-roaring commercial thriller for fans of Lucy Foley, Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell.

            ISBN 9781409195986
            Released NZ 29 Dec 2020
            Publisher Orion Publishing
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            Never Let Go: How to Parent Your Child Through Mental Illness
             

            Never Let Go: How to Parent Your Child Through Mental Illness (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Alderson, Suzanne

            • RRP: $37.00
            • $28.86
            • Save $8.14
            • To Order

            How to help your child with mental illness through partnering, not parenting. Never Let Go is a supportive and practical guide for parents looking after a child with a mental illness.

            ISBN 9781785043314
            Released NZ 9 Nov 2020
            Publisher Ebury Publishing
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            Explaining Humans: Winner of the Royal Society Science Book Prize 2020
             

            Explaining Humans: Winner of the Royal Society Science Book Prize 2020 (Hardback)

            By Pang, Camilla

            • RRP: $48.50
            • $36.41
            • Save $12.09
            • Internationally sourced

            How proteins, machine learning and molecular chemistry can teach us about the complexities of human behaviour and the world around us How do we understand the people around us? How do we recognise people's motivations, their behaviour, or even their facial expressions? And, when ...do we learn the social cues that dictate human behaviour? Diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder at the age of eight, Camilla Pang struggled to understand the world around her and the way people worked. Desperate for a solution, Camilla asked her mother if there was an instruction manual for humans that she could consult. But, without the blueprint to life she was hoping for, Camilla began to create her own. Now armed with a PhD in Bioinformatics, Camilla dismantles our obscure social customs and identifies what it really means to be human using her unique expertise and a language she knows best: science. Through a set of scientific principles, this book examines life's everyday interactions including: - Decisions and the route we take to make them; - Conflict and how we can avoid it; - Relationships and how we establish them; - Etiquette and how we conform to it. Explaining Humans is an original and incisive exploration of human nature and the strangeness of social norms, written from the outside looking in. Camilla's unique perspective of the world, in turn, tells us so much about ourselves - about who we are and why we do it - and is a fascinating guide on how to lead a more connected, happier life.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241409602
            Released NZ 3 Mar 2020
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Toxic Childhood Stress: The Legacy of Early Trauma and How to Heal
             

            Toxic Childhood Stress: The Legacy of Early Trauma and How to Heal (Paperback)

            By Harris, Dr Nadine Burke

            • RRP: $32.50
            • $24.26
            • Save $8.24
            • Internationally sourced

            Dr Nadine Burke Harris reveals the science behind Adverse Childhood Experience and the tangible effects of abuse, neglect and stress on the development of the brain and long term health

            ISBN 9781509823987
            Released NZ 29 Aug 2020
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Explaining Humans: Winner of the Royal Society Science Book Prize 2020
             

            Explaining Humans: Winner of the Royal Society Science Book Prize 2020 (Paperback)

            By Pang, Camilla

            • RRP: $26.00
            • $19.50
            • Save $6.50
            • Pub Date
              1 Jun 21

            How proteins, machine learning and molecular chemistry can teach us about the complexities of human behaviour and the world around us How do we understand the people around us? How do we recognise people's motivations, their behaviour, or even their facial expressions? And, when ...do we learn the social cues that dictate human behaviour? Diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder at the age of eight, Camilla Pang struggled to understand the world around her and the way people worked. Desperate for a solution, Camilla asked her mother if there was an instruction manual for humans that she could consult. But, without the blueprint to life she was hoping for, Camilla began to create her own. Now armed with a PhD in biochemistry, Camilla dismantles our obscure social customs and identifies what it really means to be human using her unique expertise and a language she knows best: science. Through a set of scientific principles, this book examines life's everyday interactions including: - Decisions and the route we take to make them; - Conflict and how we can avoid it; - Relationships and how we establish them; - Etiquette and how we conform to it. Explaining Humans is an original and incisive exploration of human nature and the strangeness of social norms, written from the outside looking in. Camilla's unique perspective of the world, in turn, tells us so much about ourselves - about who we are and why we do it - and is a fascinating guide on how to lead a more connected, happier life.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241987117
            Released NZ 1 Jun 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Prima Donna: The Psychology of Maria Callas
             

            Prima Donna: The Psychology of Maria Callas (Hardback)

            By Wink, Paul

            • RRP: $44.99
            • $35.99
            • Save $9.00
            • Pub Date
              19 Feb 21

            Paul Wink utilizes cutting-edge advances in research on developmental psychology and narcissism to shed light on Callas's puzzling personal deterioration during the last nine years of her life. Prima Donna is both a powerful study of Callas's life and a contribution to the greate...r body of work on the psychology of artists.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780190857738
            Released NZ 19 Feb 2021
            Publisher Oxford University Press (S1)
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Inner Lives
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            This Day in June
             

            This Day in June (Hardback)

            By Pitman, Gayle E.; Illustrated by Litten, Kristyna

            • RRP: $34.50
            • $26.77
            • Save $7.73
            • Internationally sourced

            A picture book illustrating a Pride parade. The endmatter serves as a primer on LGBT history and culture and explains the references made in the story --

            ISBN 9781433816581
            Released NZ 1 May 2014
            Publisher American Psychological Associa
            Interest Age 2-6 years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Rabbit Who Wants to Fall Asleep: A New Way of Getting Children to Sleep

            The Rabbit Who Wants to Fall Asleep: A New Way of Getting Children to Sleep (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Ehrlin, Carl-Johan Forssen; Illustrated by Maununen, Irina

            • RRP: $24.00
            • $18.00
            • Save $6.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            When Roger can't fall asleep, Mommy Rabbit takes him to see Uncle Yawn, who knows just what to do. Children will join Roger on his journey and be lulled to sleep alongside their new friend.

            ISBN 9780241255162
            Released NZ 2 Oct 2015
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 3-10 years
            Language (English)
            Availability
            260 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            It Takes a Village

            It Takes a Village (Hardback)

            By Clinton, Hillary Rodham

            • RRP: $28.99
            • $22.61
            • Save $6.38
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Illustrated children's adaptation of IT TAKES A VILLAGE

            ISBN 9781471166976
            Released NZ 9 Oct 2017
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
            Interest Age 0-5 years
            Availability
            15 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            The Book You Wish Your Parents Had Read: (and Your Children Will Be Glad That You Did)
             

            The Book You Wish Your Parents Had Read: (and Your Children Will Be Glad That You Did) (Hardback)

            By Perry, Philippa

            • RRP: $50.99
            • $40.27
            • Save $10.72
            • In Stock US

            First published in hardcover in Great Britain by Penguin Life ... in 2019 --Copyright page.

            ISBN 9781984879554
            Released NZ 4 Feb 2020
            Publisher Pamela Dorman Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 11.0K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›