Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Ethnic Studies

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 75.6K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Mana Whakatipu: Ngai Tahu leader Mark Solomon on leadership and life
             

            Mana Whakatipu: Ngai Tahu leader Mark Solomon on leadership and life (Hardback)

            By Solomon, Mark; With Revington, Mark

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $29.75
            • Save $5.25
            • In Stock At Publisher

            In 1998, just as South Island iwi Ngai Tahu was about to sign its Treaty of Waitangi settlement with the government - justice of sorts after seven generations of seeking redress - a former foundryman stepped into the pivotal role of kaiwhakahaere or chair of Te Runanga o Ngai T...ahu - the tribal council of Ngai Tahu. Mark Solomon stood at the head of his iwi at a critical moment and can be credited with the astute stewardship of the settlement that has today made Ngai Tahu a major player in the economy and given it long sought-after self determination. Bold, energetic and visionary, for 18 years Solomon forged a courageous and determined course. Now, in this direct memoir, Ta Mark reflects on his life, on the people who influenced him, on what it means to lead, and the future for both Ngai Tahu and Aotearoa New Zealand.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780995135437
            Published NZ 12 Aug 2021
            Publisher Massey University Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            968 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            This Pakeha Life: An Unsettled Memoir
             

            This Pakeha Life: An Unsettled Memoir (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Jones, Alison

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            A timely and perceptive memoir from award-winning author and academic Alison Jones. As questions of identity come to the fore once more in New Zealand, this frank and humane account of a life spent traversing Pakeha and Maori worlds offers important insights into our shared life ...on these islands.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781988587288
            Published NZ 8 Sep 2020
            Publisher Bridget Williams Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            We Are Not Like Them

            We Are Not Like Them (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Pride, Christine; Piazza, Jo

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $29.69
            • Save $3.30
            • In Stock At Publisher

            THE MOST IMPORTANT NOVEL YOU'LL READ THIS YEAR Not every story is black and white.

            ISBN 9780008334574
            Released NZ 13 Oct 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers (S2)
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            111 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Mauri Ora
             

            Mauri Ora (Hardback)

            By Alsop, Peter; Kupenga, Te Raumawhitu

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $31.99
            • Save $8.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Pearls of wisdom contained in proverbs - whakatauk I - have been gifted from generation to generation as an intrinsic part of the Maori world. As powerful metaphors, they combine analogy and cultural history in the most economical of words. Short and insightful, they surprise, en...gendering reflection, learning and personal growth. Mauri Ora links whakatauk I to key personal virtues idealised across cultures and generations. The virtues - wisdom, courage, compassion, integrity, self-mastery and belief - stem from the science of positive psychology; the study of how to live a better life. Illustrated throughout with wonderful photographs from an old world, this book draws on traditional wisdom to provide a recipe for personal effectiveness and leadership, and a rewarding connection of Maori knowledge to contemporary thinking about personal happiness and fulfilment.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780947503147
            Published NZ 24 Oct 2016
            Publisher Potton & Burton
            Interest Age General Audience
            Language (English and Te Reo Maori)
            Availability
            989 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Survival of Maori as a People: A Collection of Papers by Emeritus Professor Whatarangi Winiata
             

            The Survival of Maori as a People: A Collection of Papers by Emeritus Professor Whatarangi Winiata (Paperback)

            By Winiata, Whatarangi; Luke, Daphne

            • RRP: $65.00
            • $52.00
            • Save $13.00
            • Available At Publisher

            This collection brings together over forty years of thought and comment by Dr Whatarangi Winiata on Maori spirituality, social development, education and political affairs. Each chapter discusses the importance and impact of Maori management of Maori matters and the ongoing pur...suit of tino rangatiratanga in all areas of life. Dr Winiata has worked to achieve Maori development, wellbeing and attainment of aspirations over decades: driving the iwi development programme Whakatupuranga Rua Mano that led to the foundation of the first contemporary wananga, Te Wananga o Raukawa; being key in restructuring the working of Te Hahi Mihingare; galvanising the New Zealand Maori Council to hold the Crown accountable over fisheries, forestry, language and broadcasting; and co-founding the Maori Party with Dame Tariana Turia and Sir Pita Sharples. These papers, curated by Dr Winiata and Daphne Luke, provide an analysis of recent Maori experience, pursuit of self-determination and history of Aotearoa.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775504016
            Published NZ 15 Jul 2021
            Publisher Huia Publishers
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois

            The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Jeffers, Honoree Fanonne

            • RRP: $35.00
            • $26.25
            • Save $8.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            'This sweeping, brilliant and beautiful narrative is at once a love song to Black girlhood, family, history, joy, pain ... and so much more. In Jeffers' deft hands, the story of race and love in America becomes the great American novel' Jacqueline Woodson, author of Red at the Bo...ne and Another Brooklyn
            Read more

            ISBN 9780008516482
            Released NZ 1 Sep 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Tikanga
             

            Tikanga (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Tipene, Francis; Tipene, Kaiora

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $29.99
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Francis and Kaiora Tipene share how they bring the traditional values of tikanga Maaori into day-to-day living and what they learnt about the concepts of te ao Maaori growing up ... more of their life experiences juggling five sons, three businesses, a television show and a life ...filled with joy, spirituality and tikanga --Publisher information.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781775541752
            Published NZ 2 Jun 2021
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            174 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
            View details for this title
            Indigenous Women's Voices: 20 Years on from Linda Tuhiwai Smith's Decolonizing Methodologies
              

            Indigenous Women's Voices: 20 Years on from Linda Tuhiwai Smith's Decolonizing Methodologies (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            Edited by Lee, Emma; Evans, Jen; Foreword by Smith, Linda Tuhiwai

            • RRP: $43.99
            • $34.31
            • Save $9.68
            • Pub Date
              24 Mar 22

            Indigenous essays in honour of Linda Tuhiwai Smith celebrate the positive, shifting ground of how Indigenous writers are shaping the post-colonial research world

            ISBN 9781786998422
            Released NZ 24 Mar 2022
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Tikanga Maori: Living by Maori Values
             

            Tikanga Maori: Living by Maori Values (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Revised edition)

            By Mead, Hirini Moko

            Tikanga Maori is the authoritative and accessible introduction to understanding the correct Maori ways of doing things as they were done in the past, as they are done in the present - and as they may yet be.

            ISBN 9781775502227
            Published NZ 30 Nov 2016
            Publisher Huia Publishers
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Reprinting
            View details for this title
            Dark and Shallow Lies
              

            Dark and Shallow Lies (Paperback)

            By Myers Sain, Ginny

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $21.83
            • Save $1.16
            • Internationally sourced

            A bone-chillingly atmospheric thriller for young adults, full of twists and turns with a simmering supernatural undercurrent. Perfect for fans of Holly Jackson, Karen McManus and Della Owens' Where the Crawdads Sing

            ISBN 9780008494780
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age 13+ years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 75.6K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›