Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -
            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 42.4K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Last Hours in Paris: Set in WW2 and the Liberation, a powerful story of an impossible love
             

            The Last Hours in Paris: Set in WW2 and the Liberation, a powerful story of an impossible love (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Druart, Ruth

            • RRP: $36.99
            • $30.33
            • Save $6.66
            • Pub Date
              12 Jul 22

            Set in occupied Paris, this epic, powerful story of love, betrayal and atonement sheds light on the events of Liberation and its aftermath. A novel that will stay with you for ever.

            ISBN 9781472268037
            Released NZ 12 Jul 2022
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Dark Music: The gripping new thriller from the author of THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB
              

            Dark Music: The gripping new thriller from the author of THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB (Hardback)

            By Lagercrantz, David; Translated by Giles, Ian

            • RRP: $60.00
            • $48.00
            • Save $12.00
            • Pub Date
              29 Nov 22

            A gripping new thriller from the bestselling author of THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB

            ISBN 9781529413199
            Released NZ 29 Nov 2022
            Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Dark Music: The gripping new thriller from the author of THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB
             

            Dark Music: The gripping new thriller from the author of THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Lagercrantz, David; Translated by Giles, Ian

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $30.39
            • Save $7.60
            • Pub Date
              18 Aug 22

            A gripping new thriller from the bestselling author of THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB

            ISBN 9781529413182
            Released NZ 18 Aug 2022
            Publisher Quercus Publishing Plc
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Destination Buchenwald: The astonishing survival story of Australian and New Zealand airmen in a Nazi death camp
              

            Destination Buchenwald: The astonishing survival story of Australian and New Zealand airmen in a Nazi death camp (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Burgess, Colin

            • RRP: $39.99
            • $32.79
            • Save $7.20
            • Pub Date
              6 Jul 22

            The harrowing story of the Allied airmen who experienced the true horrors of Nazism firsthand. It was the summer of 1944 as liberating Allied forces surged towards Paris following the D-Day landings. For a large group of downed airmen being held in that city's infamous Fresnes Pr...ison, they were about to face evacuation into the blackest, bloody heart of Germany and experience the most acute evil of the war. Amid great secrecy, those 168 airmen - including several from Australia and New Zealand - were transported on a filthy, overcrowded nightmare train journey which ended at the notorious Buchenwald concentration camp, accompanied by orders for their execution. At Buchenwald they witnessed extreme depravity that would haunt them to the end of their days. Yet, on returning home, they were confronted by decades of denials from their own governments that they had ever been held in one of Hitler's most vile concentration camps. In conducting his original deep research for this book - now completely expanded and updated - Colin Burgess personally interviewed or corresponded with dozens of the surviving airmen from a number of nations, including their valorous leader, New Zealand Squadron Leader Phil Lamason. Destination Buchenwald tells a compelling story of extraordinary bravery, comradeship and endurance, when a group of otherwise ordinary servicemen were thrust into an unimaginable Nazi hell. 'This was the first book to provide an insight into our experiences as a group of captured allied airmen, betrayed to the Gestapo, tortured and deported to Buchenwald concentration camp. I consider it to be one of the best interpretations of the events as it reflects the voices of the survivors and their challenges to stay alive in such dehumanising circumstances.' Sqn Ldr Stanley Booker, RAF (Rtd.), MBE, Legion D'Honneur: Last surviving member of the Buchenwald airmen
            Read more

            ISBN 9781761106712
            Published NZ 6 Jul 2022
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Australia
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Royal Station Master's Daughters: A heartwarming World War I saga of family, secrets and royalty (The Royal Station Master's Daughters Series book 1)
             

            The Royal Station Master's Daughters: A heartwarming World War I saga of family, secrets and royalty (The Royal Station Master's Daughters Series book 1) (Paperback)

            By Seymour, Ellee

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $18.85
            • Save $4.14
            • Pub Date
              5 Jul 22

            A heartwarming and dramatic World War I saga of secrets, love and the British royal family for readers of Daisy Styles and Maisie Thomas. With members of the royal family and their guests passing through the station on their way to Sandringham, the Saward family have a unique pos...ition within their small community.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781838774578
            Released NZ 5 Jul 2022
            Publisher Zaffre
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            The Happiest Man on Earth: The Beautiful Life of an Auschwitz Survivor
             

            The Happiest Man on Earth: The Beautiful Life of an Auschwitz Survivor (Paperback)

            By Jaku, Eddie

            • RRP: $29.50
            • $23.52
            • Save $5.98
            • In Stock UK

            The moving and inspiring story of an Auschwitz survivor who shares what he's learned about gratitude, tolerance and kindness.

            ISBN 9781529066364
            Publisher Pan Macmillan
            Interest Age 18+ years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced; ships 10-15 working days
            View details for this title
            The Escape Artist: The Man Who Broke Out of Auschwitz to Warn the World

            The Escape Artist: The Man Who Broke Out of Auschwitz to Warn the World (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Freedland, Jonathan

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $31.15
            • Save $6.84
            • In Stock At Supplier

            The astonishing, forgotten story of the hero who escaped from Auschwitz to reveal the truth of the Holocaust.

            ISBN 9781529369052
            Released NZ 14 Jun 2022
            Publisher John Murray Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            999 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Secret of Splint Hall
             

            The Secret of Splint Hall (Paperback)

            By Cotton, Katie

            • RRP: $21.99
            • $20.91
            • Save $1.08
            • Internationally sourced

            Two girls must unearth an ancient myth hidden deep beneath the mysterious Splint Hall... 1945. War has ended, but for sisters Flora and Isobel the struggles still continue. They've lost their father and had their home destroyed in a bombing raid, and now they must go to live with... their aunt and her awful husband Mr Godfrey in their ancestral home, Splint Hall. From the moment of their arrival it seems that this is a place shrouded in mysteries and secrets. Who are the strange men who arrive with packages at night? What is the source of the strange blue sparks coming from the ground? And why do the locals seem to hate their family so much? As the girls begin to unearth an ancient myth and family secret, the adventure of a lifetime begins.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781839131967
            Publisher Andersen Press Ltd
            Interest Age 9-11 years
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 10-15 working days
            View details for this title
            The School That Escaped the Nazis

            The School That Escaped the Nazis (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Cadbury, Deborah

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $31.15
            • Save $6.84
            • In Stock At Supplier

            The extraordinary true story of progressive schoolteacher, Anna Essinger, the woman who defied Hitler, smuggling her school and it pupils from Nazi Germany to the safety of England

            ISBN 9781529365788
            Released NZ 10 May 2022
            Publisher John Murray Press
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            191 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            Hannah's War: A moving and heartwarming WWII land girl saga

            Hannah's War: A moving and heartwarming WWII land girl saga (Paperback)

            By Mann, Shirley

            • RRP: $22.99
            • $18.85
            • Save $4.14
            • To Order

            A moving and dramatic World War II Land Girl saga by the author of Lily's War and Bobby's War.

            ISBN 9781838774455
            Released NZ 31 May 2022
            Publisher Zaffre
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
            View details for this title
            Total 42.4K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›