Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -

            Weapons & Military Equipment

            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 5.87K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            The Bomber Mafia: A Story Set in War

            The Bomber Mafia: A Story Set in War (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Gladwell, Malcolm

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $30.00
            • Save $10.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Most military thinkers in the years leading up to World War II saw the airplane as an afterthought. But a small band of idealistic strategists had a different view. This Bomber Mafia asked- What if precision bombing could, just by taking out critical choke points - industrial or ...transportation hubs - cripple the enemy and make war far less lethal? In The Bomber Mafia, Gladwell delves deep into questions of how technology and best intentions collide in the heat of war.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780241535868
            Released NZ 11 May 2021
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            999 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Battlecruiser New Zealand: A Gift to Empire
              

            The Battlecruiser New Zealand: A Gift to Empire (Hardback)

            By Wright, Matthew J.

            • RRP: $59.99
            • $59.99
            • Pub Date
              10 Nov 21

            The most detailed account yet of the career of this famous battlecruiser.

            ISBN 9781526784032
            Released NZ 10 Nov 2021
            Publisher Pen & Sword Books Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Winkle: The Extraordinary Life of Britain's Greatest Pilot
              

            Winkle: The Extraordinary Life of Britain's Greatest Pilot (Hardback)

            By Beaver, Paul

            • RRP: $70.00
            • $61.37
            • Save $8.63
            • Pub Date
              20 Jan 22

            The extraordinary life of Captain Eric 'Winkle' Brown - aviator, record-breaker, and Britain's greatest pilot

            ISBN 9780718186708
            Released NZ 20 Jan 2022
            Publisher Penguin
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 1 Mar 2023
            View details for this title
            The Spitfire Kids: The generation who built, supported and flew Britain's most beloved fighter
             

            The Spitfire Kids: The generation who built, supported and flew Britain's most beloved fighter (Hardback)

            By Cross, Alasdair; Worldwide, Bbc

            • RRP: $60.00
            • $46.80
            • Save $13.20
            • Pub Date
              10 Aug 21

            A bestselling BBC Radio 4 ten-part series and podcast that celebrates the men and women who built and flew the Second World War's most famous fighter plane - the Spitfire.

            ISBN 9781472281968
            Released NZ 10 Aug 2021
            Publisher Headline Publishing Group
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Becoming Kim Jong Un: Understanding North Korea's Young Dictator

            Becoming Kim Jong Un: Understanding North Korea's Young Dictator (Hardback)

            By Pak, Jung H.

            • RRP: $42.99
            • $32.24
            • Save $10.75
            • In Stock At Publisher

            The first book from a former intelligence community insider

            ISBN 9781786077165
            Released NZ 30 Mar 2021
            Publisher Oneworld Publications
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            42 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
            View details for this title
            The Pathfinders: The Elite RAF Force that Turned the Tide of WWII

            The Pathfinders: The Elite RAF Force that Turned the Tide of WWII (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Iredale, Will

            • RRP: $40.00
            • $31.20
            • Save $8.80
            • Reprinting

            Dark low-level raids, dodging anti-aircraft flak to make pinpoint-accurate drops - the incredible story of ordinary men and women who took to the skies to mark bomb targets inside Hitler's Germany The Pathfinders were the crack team that transformed the hit rate in the RAF's Bomb...er Command from 24% in August 1942 to an incredible 96% hit rate by 1945. They transformed Bomber Command - the only part of the Allied war effort capable of attacking the heart of Nazi Germany - from an impotent division on the cusp of disintegration in 1942 to a force capable of razing whole German cities to the ground, inspiring fear in Hitler's senior command and helping the Allies deliver decisive victory in World War II. With exclusive interviews with remaining survivors, personal diaries, previously classified records and never-before seen photographs, The Pathfinders brings to life the characters of the airmen and women -- many barely out of their teens - who took to the skies in iconic British aircraft such as the Lancaster and the Mosquito, facing almost unimaginable levels of violence from enemy fighter planes to strike the heart of the Nazi war machine.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780753557815
            Released NZ 20 Jul 2021
            Publisher Ebury Publishing
            Interest Age 16+ years
            Availability
            Reprinting
            View details for this title
            The Weapons that Changed History: Key Milestones in Battlefield Technology
             

            The Weapons that Changed History: Key Milestones in Battlefield Technology (Hardback)

            By Cross, Robin

            • RRP: $64.99
            • $49.09
            • Save $15.90
            • Not Available Locally

            Highlighting the most important conventional weapons of all time the book also embraces concepts, communications and inventions that help to ensure victory in the theatre of war.

            ISBN 9781787394407
            Released NZ 1 Jul 2021
            Publisher Welbeck Publishing Group
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced on backorder; allow 4-8 weeks
            View details for this title
            SAS Combat Vehicles 1942-91

            SAS Combat Vehicles 1942-91 (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

            By Mortimer, Gavin; Illustrated by Morshead, Henry; Cano Rodriguez, Irene

            • RRP: $24.99
            • $19.49
            • Save $5.50
            • Pre Release Local

            A history of the Special Air Service's lightweight, heavily armed vehicles and their combat use, ranging from the famous 1942 airfield raids of North Africa, the SAS Brigade's jeep-borne operations in Europe after D-Day, and 22 SAS's postwar adoption of much-modified Land Rovers ...for desert operations.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781472846808
            Released NZ 3 Aug 2021
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series New Vanguard
            Availability
            20 Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            Steel Fear: An unputdownable thriller
              

            Steel Fear: An unputdownable thriller (Paperback)

            By Webb, Brandon; Mann, John David

            • RRP: $32.50
            • $24.52
            • Save $7.98
            • Pub Date
              5 Aug 21

            An aircraft carrier adrift with a crew the size of a small town. A murderer in their midst. And the disgraced Navy SEAL who must track him down...'Sensationally good - an instant classic, maybe an instant legend' Lee ChildThe moment Navy SEAL sniper Finn sets foot on the USS Abra...ham Lincoln, it's clear something is deeply wrong. Leadership is weak. Morale is low. And when crew members start disappearing one by one, what at first seems like a random string of suicides soon reveals something far more sinister: there's a serial killer on board. Suspicion falls on newcomer Finn. After all, he's being sent home in disgrace, recalled from the field under the dark cloud of a mission gone wrong. He's also a lone wolf, haunted by his past. Finding the killer offers a chance at redemption... if he can stay alive long enough to prove it isn't him. A gripping and high-octane thriller from New York Times bestselling writing team of Navy SEAL Brandon Webb and award-winning author John David Mann, Steel Fear is perfect for fans of Tom Clancy, Brad Thor and Adam Hamdy. 'An edge-of-your-seat thriller ... once you get going there's no stopping' Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author'For readers who can't resist a bureaucracy-battling action hero, there's a new kid on the block' Booklist [Starred review] 'That more thrillers are to come from these authors will be welcome news to readers who appreciate carefully plotted and intelligent suspense' Publishers Weekly [Starred review]
            Read more

            ISBN 9781800326057
            Released NZ 5 Aug 2021
            Publisher Canelo
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series The Finn Thrillers
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 5 Aug 2021
            View details for this title
            The Ancient Assyrians
             

            The Ancient Assyrians (Paperback)

            By Healy, Mark; Illustrated by McBride, Angus

            • RRP: $32.99
            • $32.99
            • Back Order Indent title

            This volume in the Elite series details the organization and equipment of the forces of ancient Assyria, the world's first professional army and the scourge of the biblical Middle East.

            ISBN 9781855321632
            Released NZ 20 May 2012
            Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
            Interest Age General Audience
            Series Elite
            Availability
            Back Order Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
            View details for this title
            Total 5.87K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›