Wheelers Books

The Middler

The Middler
 

"I was special. I was a hero. I lost the best friend I ever had." Eleven-year-old Maggie lives in Fennis Wick, enclosed and protected from the outside world by a boundary, beyond which the Quiet War rages and the dirty, dangerous wanderers roam. Her brother Jed is an eldes... read full description below.

This title can only be ordered as part of Wheelers ePlatform - a library lending platform for schools and public libraries.

Log in with an ePlatform enabled account.

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781788003469
Published 28 March 2019 by Nosy Crow
Available in EPUB format
Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
Language en
Author(s) By Applebaum, Kirsty
Availability Wheelers ePlatform

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781788003469
ISBN-10
Stock Available
Status Wheelers ePlatform
Publisher Nosy Crow
Imprint Nosy Crow
Publication Date 28 March 2019
Publication Country
Format EPUB ebook
Author(s) By Applebaum, Kirsty
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Adventure Stories
War Stories
Number of Pages 256
Dimensions Not specified
Weight Not specified - defaults to 0g
Interest Age 9-11 years
Reading Age 9-11 years
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 984564

Description of this Electronic Book

"I was special. I was a hero. I lost the best friend I ever had."

Eleven-year-old Maggie lives in Fennis Wick, enclosed and protected from the outside world by a boundary, beyond which the Quiet War rages and the dirty, dangerous wanderers roam.

Her brother Jed is an eldest, revered and special. A hero. Her younger brother is Trig - everyone loves Trig. But Maggie's just a middler; invisible and left behind. Then, one hot September day, she meets Una, a hungry wanderer girl in need of help, and everything Maggie has ever known gets turned on its head.

Narrated expertly and often hilariously by Maggie, we experience the trials and frustrations of being the forgotten middle child, the child with no voice, even in her own family.

This gripping story of forbidden friendship, loyalty and betrayal is perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff and Frances Hardinge

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Kirsty ApplebaumA spent her childhood romping around churchyards and butterfly fields. Since then she has had an eclectic mix of jobs including bookselling, railway re-signalling, picking stones off a conveyor belt and putting lids on perfume bottles. These days she teaches Pilates two days a week and dedicates the rest of her time to writing. In February 2017 Kirsty graduated from Bath Spa University's MA in Writing for Young People. Her middle grade novel,A The Middler, won the 2016 United Agents Prize for Most Promising Writing for Young People.

^ top